Packing for Kathmandu- SOL #28

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I leave for Kathmandu, Nepal tomorrow! I, of course, left the packing for today. I typically pack the day of, but I have to leave by noon, so I figured I’d do it tonight. I am usually an over-packer, but I am trying to be better. In an attempt to pack less and avoid checking a bag, I pared down what I would normally take. Here’s a look at what is coming with me to Kathmandu:

IMG_3624

I’ll be in Nepal for a week. As far as clothes go, I’m taking 3 pairs of shoes (trainers, sanuks, and sandals), 4 pair of leggings, 1 skirt, 1 pair of jeans, 5 undershirts, 8 shirts, 1 jean shirt, 1 cardigan, 1 track jacket, 2 bras, 11 undies, 5 pairs of socks, and 1 scarf. I realize this seems like a lot of clothes for a week, but due to the warm days and cool nights, I’ll have to layer. Additionally, I am taking toiletries (deodorant, solid shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion, toothpaste and toothbrush, perfume, and a hairbrush), a bag of wipes, kleenex, and some medicine (it is Southeast Asia after all), and a small makeup bag (powder, mascara, blush, and chapstick).

One trick I’ve learned as a traveler is to use packing bags. It really helps compact everything into a much smaller space. See what I mean…all of that fit into this:

IMG_3625 I always travel with my writer’s notebook, writing utensils, and a couple of books. I plan on spending lots of time writing and reading on this trip. I can’t wait to relax!

IMG_3627

Now to pack it all in my carry on. I was a little skeptical that it would all fit, but I have some mad Tetris skills, so it worked out just fine.

IMG_3629

Now for my personal item. I’ll be taking my backpack filled with a few other travel essentials.

IMG_3633

In my backpack, I’m bringing my camera in its own case, my new wide angle lens, laptop (for blogging of course!), adapters for Nepal, my iPad (in case I need more books), headphones, EOS lip balm, sunnies, eye mask for the plane (I have an overnight flight on the way back), a small pack with essentials like hand sanitizer, kleenex, mints, disposable toothbrush, and small pillbox with tylenol and melatonin, face mask for that pesky pollution I may encounter, and my passport. I’ll also throw a couple of snacks and my reusable water bottle in there in the morning.

I am so excited to go on this adventure, and seeing the weather forecast today made me even happier…

IMG_5455

Of course these temps are in Celsius…:) For those of you who operate on Fahrenheit, I’ll have highs in the 80’s and lows in the 50’s. Oh, and look at that sun! I am such a happy girl tonight!

What are your travel essentials? I always love hearing what people bring with them.

8 thoughts on “Packing for Kathmandu- SOL #28

  1. shaggerspicchu

    I don’t think any of you realize how big of an accoplishment this is for Jennifer. Seriously. This is a big deal. I am giving you a standing ovation over here Ennif! Since you dis such a good job on choosing your clothes and shoes I will skip giving you a hard time on those silly packing bags 😛

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Awww Shaggers, you have me blushing over here! 🙂 The shoes are a really big deal. I probably could have dealt with just 2 pairs of shoes, but I couldn’t resist one more so I have options. 🙂 And those packing bags are pretty amazing!!

      Reply
  2. elsie

    I commend you on your packing! My husband is obsessed with packing and folding so he doesn’t get wrinkles. Of course, he always gets wrinkles and it drives him nuts. So of course we have a mini travel iron. Me, I don’t care. Have a fabulous time, and I look forward to all your posts relaying your adventures.

    Reply
  3. tsudmeier

    That packing is amazing! I am such an over packer. I think its because I start early then keep adding things I might need. This could also be a how-to piece of packing well, I need some of those plastic bags. Have a wonderful time in Nepal!

    Reply
  4. carriefinn

    This trip sounds amazing!! I, too, am super impressed with your packing skills. I can’t wait to see what you write about the trip. Have a safe and wonderful trip!

    Reply
  5. jaclynfre

    I must find out where to get those packing bags!! They look amazing! Your packing looks so organized. My biggest packing hack is always having my toiletry bag ready with travel sized everything. I restock when I return from a trip and am unpacking so I won’t have to remember in the frantic hours before leaving on my next trip. This is coming from someone who–when living in the US–would spend years without ever getting on an airplane. Now . . . ? International teaching culture has changed all of that. How many planes have you been on in the last 2 years? Hmmm . . . Since I moved to Indonesia: 30+. That just seems nuts!! I’d love to hear your number. Have fun in Kathmandu!!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: my last trip in Indonesia–really | jakartajackie

I {heart} comments.

