What I Believe- SOL #24

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hI recently read Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson, and I was struck by the chapter entitled “What I Believe,” so I used it as a mentor text for today’s slice.

What I Believe

I believe in laughter, the kind where you laugh with your whole body, and your belly aches when you’re done.
I believe in good food and good conversation with good friends.
I believe in going and doing all that you can, before it’s too late.
I believe in the country and the city.
I believe in family, the people who will be there for you no matter what happens.
I believe in fighting for what you believe in.
I believe in love, messy, not-sure-if-it-will-work-out-but-you-go-for-it-anyway love.
I believe in a higher power, a God that is there for us and loves us, even though we don’t always deserve it.
I believe in working hard and giving it all you’ve got.
I believe in desserts, indulgent, comforting, make your mouth water desserts.
I believe that a smile or hug can make someone’s day.
I believe in words; they have the power to move mountains or tear down the most powerful fortress.
I believe that sometimes all you need is a good cry.
I believe that books are meant to be shared.
I believe in giving.
I believe that everyone is a writer, just waiting to be discovered.
I believe that reflection and change, while hard, is a necessary part of living.

15 thoughts on “What I Believe- SOL #24

  1. elsie

    Sometimes when we write out our beliefs, we can readjust the direction that our life when it doesn’t match our beliefs. What a great road you are traveling!

    Reply
  2. Judy C.

    Awesome list of beliefs – once you’ve written them they have so much more meaning. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. Jaana

    “I believe in words; they have the power to move mountains or tear down the most powerful fortress.” YES! Wonderful list!

    Reply
  4. Leigh Anne

    I love Brown Girl Dreaming! I wrote a similar post after I read it too. Reading it just makes you want to think about those belief and get them down on paper to solidify. We have very similar beliefs. Very well done and straight from the heart.

    Reply
  5. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski

    Gorgeous post & list. I believe in all of that too. Thanks so much for sharing the link. This is so lovely.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

