Sleepless Nights- SOL #6

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Sleepless Nights

can’t shut it off
the endless loop
the record skipping
the song on repeat
tossing and
turning
trying to find
that one comfortable spot
maybe then
I can sleep

watching the clock
counting the hours of
sleep I’ll get
if I can just
sleep now
the bags
under my eyes
reveal the truth

can I sleep tonight?
can I shut if off
long enough
to fully rest?
will the worry
cease to invade
my mind?
I hope so
I really, really
hope so

14 thoughts on “Sleepless Nights- SOL #6

  1. elsie

    Those nights are never restful. I guess that’s why I began sleeping with a TV to lull my mind into stopping the loop. It’s a terrible habit, now I can’t sleep unless there is that sound.

    Reply
  2. mrssurridge

    Those are the worst nights and the next days are a constant struggle. Why so hard to sleep at night, yet sleep feels like it could come so easily during the day? A terrible loop.

    Reply
  3. onathought

    Oh man! I hope you finally got some shut eye. So hard when you are so tired… I find myself falling asleep while putting kids to bed, and then unable to sleep later that night. Endless cycle!

    Reply
  4. tomockthekillingbird

    Nice! That is the worst feeling.

    Do you have a rule about screen time before bed?? It makes a huge difference for me. That’s why I’m staring at a screen at 2am. Also, trying some mindfulness exercises. They are great!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I have been thinking about this recently. I think that may be part of the problem. The other part is definitely stress-related though! Thanks for the tips Jeezy!

      Reply

I {heart} comments.

