I LOVE Myanmar…and You Will, Too!- SOL #5

IMG_6167

Have you ever heard of Myanmar? I hadn’t until I lived in Asia. Myanmar, formerly known as Burma, is located in Asia between Thailand and Bangladesh. Having been closed to tourism for a long time, it’s relatively untouched when compared to Thailand, Cambodia, and Vietnam. I recently returned from my second trip, and I absolutely LOVE Myanmar! Here are a few reasons why you should consider adding it to your list.

IMG_3085

IMG_3110

IMG_2917

IMG_3215

IMG_3297

The People

The people of Myanmar are extremely friendly and helpful. “Mingalaba” is called out to all, said with a smile on their face. When you’re in trouble, they help you out. Like the time I was scared of the stray dogs growling and barring their teeth and the hotel owner drove me around Inle Lake to find Shaggers. Or like the police who found my friend Aaron’s wallet, then called around to find out where he was staying, and upon realizing he had left for another town, traveled to the other town to hand deliver it to him with all the money and cards still in it. And you can’t forget the babies…they are just so darn cute! 🙂

IMG_0223

The Food

I have 4 words for you. Burmese. Tea. Leaf. Salad. Oh my goodness…amazingness! Once I tried it I was hooked, and I proceeded to have at least one each day. The mix of flavors and textures explodes in your mouth. And then there’s the fresh juice. Lime was my favorite, but pineapple and mango were a close second. The abundance of fresh vegetables and fruits made it a vegetarian’s dream (especially in Bagan)!

IMG_6362

IMG_0251

IMG_3221

IMG_6017

The Vibrancy

Myanmar is vibrant, full of life, with splashes of color everywhere. Walking around, your eyes can’t help but be drawn to the bright, rich colors. The sounds and smells are vibrant, too. You’re inundated with the sounds of motorbikes whizzing by, cars honking, people shouting to one another, and the sound of hooves as the horses pull their carriages. The scent of spicy curries, manure, fresh flowers, and dust assault your nose.

IMG_3042

IMG_3026

IMG_0464

IMG_3144

The Lake- Inle Lake to be exact

Inle Lake is one of my favorite places on earth. Seriously. There’s just something about it that I love. Maybe it’s the lake itself. Riding across the lake in a long boat, taking it all in- the villages, floating gardens, the mountains off in the distance, the fishermen- puts a smile on my face. All my cares in the world seem to disappear. Maybe it’s the simple way of life, the quaint little town, with it’s dirt roads, markets, and delicious restaurants. Maybe it’s the bike riding trails around the area, where you can ride around and get lost. I’m not sure exactly what it is that I love about Inle Lake, but I do know that my heart is happy when I’m there.

IMG_0415

IMG_6265

The Sunsets

I cannot tell you how much I love a good sunset. And Myanmar has some great ones, especially on Inle Lake. Photographs can’t even begin to do them justice.

IMG_3462

IMG_6365

IMG_6371

IMG_0350

IMG_6411

The Temples

Awe-inspiring, full of history, beautiful temples abound in Myanmar, particularly in Bagan, where there are about 3,000 of them. While you can get “templed out” after looking at so many of them, they really are spectacular. I especially like them at night, the way they contrast against the night sky.

IMG_3044 There are many more reasons why I love Myanmar and think you will, too. Check it out, plan a trip, and discover it for yourself. You won’t regret it. 🙂

12 thoughts on “I LOVE Myanmar…and You Will, Too!- SOL #5

  1. shaggerspicchu

    Yum, tea leaf salad! All is wonderful in Myanmar until you mess up your flight. The lack of technology in the airport made it pretty tricky to fix my silly error. If you plan on going to Myanmar make sure you check your tickets 3 times! 😀

    Reply
  2. Teaching Wanderlust

    I have not met a single person that didn’t enjoy their time in Myanmar. I can’t wait until I have a chance to visit Myanmar! One day I will go and do the sunrise tour in a hot air balloon.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Letter M #AtoZChallenge | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

I {heart} comments.