I Love Surprises!

Those of you who know me or who have read my slices in the past know I love surprises. When someone goes out of their way to surprise me, it lights up my day. But you know what I love even more than getting surprises? Being the one to surprise someone else!

I’ve been planning a surprise for my cousin Katy for about a year now. The surprise was going to be for our fortieth birthdays (we are three days apart, y’all!), but since I’m not sure what will be going on in my life 2+ years from now and because I’m impatient, I figured why not, let’s make it a 38th birthday surprise. Not exactly the same ring to it, but what the heck, a surprise is a surprise, right?

Last summer, Katy and I were texting as I wandered the streets of Mandalay on my solo trip to Myanmar. I snuck in an question that would have normally raised suspicion, but since I was traveling and we were talking about “travely” stuff, it seemed innocent enough. I asked her where she would go if she could go anywhere in the world. Her top five places were Italy, New Zealand, France, Brazil, and the Maldives. This information stayed tucked away in my mind.

Seeing as I went to both New Zealand and Italy last year, the Maldives are more of a romantic getaway, and Brazil is just too far away (for now), that left France. Paris is one of my favorite cities in the world, and as they say, Paris is always a good idea. So, after talking to my aunt (Katy’s mom) about whether she could help watch Katy’s kids this summer (she will!), I called Katy up this morning.

After catching up for a bit since we hadn’t talked in a while, I hit her with the surprise.

“Remember when I asked you last summer about where you’d like to go if you could go anywhere?”

“Yeah…”

“Well, I was gonna wait to do this for our fortieth, but I figured it’s a good idea to do it now. How would you like to go to Paris with me?”

“What?!?”

“I’d like to take you on a trip to Paris this summer. Would you like to go?”

With tears in her eyes, she excitedly said, “Yes! I’d have to be crazy to say no to that! Are you sure?”

Laughing, “Yes, I’m sure.”

Since she was so shocked, it took a little more convincing to make her understand I was actually serious.

At the end of the conversation, she said, “You’re the coolest cousin ever!”

Right back atcha Katy! Love you so much and can’t wait to explore one of the most dynamic and beautiful cities in the world with you. Paris, we’re coming for ya! 🙂

Photo credit: travelandleisure Instagram post

9 thoughts on “I Love Surprises!

  1. wordjourneysite

    What a great surprise! I’m so glad she is going to get away with you to the awesome city of Paris. I like how you decided to go with your gut and do it sooner, rather than later.
    (My friends and I have a (relatively new) tradition of going on amazing vacations together, with our families, for our big birthdays – talking really big – 50, 60 and now even some 70. We have been to Italy, Spain and Jamaica so far and are going to Portugal this summer. I highly recommend it:))

    Reply
  2. Pingback: DAY 31 OF THE MARCH SOLSC! #SOL19 | TWO WRITING TEACHERS

  3. Darin Johnston

    This is an awesome surprise! What a way to celebrate, with a favorite cousin?!? How cool is this? Thank you for sharing this wonderful surprise (and response!). 🙂

    Reply

I {heart} comments.