TBAs- SOL #4

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today was tough. I was angry. I was frustrated. I was hurt. But despite the fact that I’m going through a hard time, I’m going to give gratitude. I going to intentionally look for things that I know to be true, that are beautiful, and that I appreciate.

Truths…

  • I am loved. My friends and family have poured so much love on me through numerous messages, emails, comments, and hugs these past few weeks and days. Everyone of your words and gestures has touched me deeply. Thank you!
  • I am in pain, but there will be a day when the pain will stop. Everyday I take a step toward the end. Everyday I hope that today will be the day.
  • I may not be able to make a difference, but I can stand up for what I believe in. I can use my voice. I hope this is enough.
  • I’m still standing.
  • I live a truly remarkable life. I get to travel the world, meet new people from diverse cultures, try new foods, indulge in luxuries, and work with kids. For that, I am truly thankful!

Beauties…

  • The sight of my e-bike today. My e-bike that I left at Bubba’s (a restaurant) on Thanksgiving was right where I left it today. I know, with my track record with stolen bikes, I’m not too smart to leave it for 3 months, but it was COLD! Just glad it was still there!
  • Green plants
  • My clean apartment (that I didn’t have to clean)
  • The song “Mean to Me”…I want love like this!
  • Shanghai at night…love the lights!

Appreciations…

  • I appreciate my team. My team has stuck together through this trying time, and I don’t know what I’d do without them.
  • I appreciate chai tea lattes. They make me smile.
  • I appreciate Pizza Express, unlimited sweet tea, and good conversation today at lunch. Just what I needed!
  • I appreciate the Two Writing Teachers SOL community of writers…you guys have uplifted me so much these past few days! Reading your comments not only fuels me as a writer, but shows me that I’m not alone. You mean more to me than you know.
  • I appreciate Sherpa’s…on days when I don’t feel like cooking, I love that I can get food delivery at my door in less than an hour. Tonight was Thai yellow vegetable curry…yummy!

What are your TBAs?

11 thoughts on “TBAs- SOL #4

  1. ...never ending story

    Someday I would love to be in your remarkable life. I would love to travel the world. I am going to work on my ‘thankful list’. It helps when you realize that there is so much to give thanks for. Your life is full and wonderful. There always are moments that are heart breaking…love and peace through that too. xo

    Reply
  2. elsie

    Sometimes the truths are ugly and hard to face, but the beauties and appreciation always outweigh the ugly truths. Plus there are always some truths that give hope for change. I hope you are still in Shanghai whenever I get there (bucket list). What an adventure your life is!

    Reply
  3. Glenda Funk

    I love your “In everything give thanks” attitude. It’s hard sometimes. And framing these as TBA is genius. Using that as a writing prompt w/ seniors, so one of my “Appreciations” is this inspiring post. Thank you.

    Reply
  4. Michelle @litlearningzone

    I love this! I have never heard of TBAs like this. We do our “one good and one bad” at dinner with our girls, but this is a perfect stepping stone to move towards. Thanks for sharing.

    I don’t know what your situation is, but keep finding the positives, continue to fight for what you believe in, continue to find those that will support you. Hey, you’re still standing. 🙂 Know your where you are rooted and the tree will blossom.

    Reply
  5. lynnjake

    What a beautiful post. It is so great that you are able to step outside yourself and remember the things that feed you, and appreciate what all you do have, outside that which causes you pain. Kudos to you for sharing and for all that you are able to see from inside a tough place.

    Reply
  6. Alan J Wright

    The capacity to reflect and appreciate in the face of adversity is a valuable life asset. It puts the pain into perspective. Your writing provides some important messages. for not only you, but for your readers. One of the many roles we undertake as writers is to share the wisdom living brings. You have done that in this thought provoking piece.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

