My Happy Place- SOL #3

 

IMG_4999

When things are tough and it’s hard to keep going, it’s good to have a happy place, a place where you can find peace. For me, that’s my apartment. I love my little haven, away from the noise, away from the pollution, away from the stuff that brings me down. At home, it’s just the way I like it.

IMG_5009

IMG_4978

My apartment is comfortable. It’s large enough to not feel cramped, but small enough to be cozy and warm. I finally have a couch that’s comfy and large enough to seat many people (game nights!). I have space to display my artifacts that I collect on my travels without it looking cluttered. When I look at these sculptures, paintings, and creative pieces, I’m reminded that I lead a very blessed life. I get to do what I’ve always wanted to do- travel the world!

IMG_4971

IMG_4983

My kitchen, although small, is just right for me. I have everything I need to cook and have even made enough food to serve over 20 people in my tiny kitchen. It’s (nearly) always clean, thanks to my wonderful ayi who comes 4 days a week to keep me organized. I told you I had a blessed life! I love my tea station, where I have a wide variety of tea to choose from. A cuppa tea in the evening is all I need to chill. Well, that and a good book or an episode of Scandal (my recent obsession- thanks Michelle!).

IMG_4963

IMG_4966

Having an extra bedroom means room for guests, a desk to do my work (although I tend to work on the couch lately), and more closet space (I have way too many clothes!). I love having a second bedroom, as it helps me not to feel cramped.

IMG_5006

I love having fresh flowers and plants in my house- it brings life and a touch of green. Plants make me smile, and I’m proud to say that I have kept almost all of my plants alive since moving in last August. This is a huge accomplishment for me! 🙂

IMG_5003

IMG_5004

Lastly, I love my bedroom! It’s such a comforting place, where I am surrounded by plants, artwork, and pictures I love. I love my window seat and view of Shanghai. I love my comfortable bed- thank you IKEA mattress pad! I love my art wall. I love that I go to bed and wake up each day looking at my OLW from last year- Balance (thanks Andrew for the art!). It’s a daily reminder to live a balanced life. I certainly need that reminder more lately.

I love that when I’ve had a tough day, when the world has beaten me down, I can come home and be surrounded by things I love that make me happy.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

23 thoughts on “My Happy Place- SOL #3

  1. Donna Smith

    I’m always more content when my house is in good order. I’ve come to learn to be more content in my house regardless…because the good order is rarely happening lately!

    Reply
  2. Teaching Wanderlust

    I love your apartment! Look at that window seat! I think apartments in China can be really great. How is your bed?

    When I was teaching in Beijing I had a fabulous apartment, leather couch, great ayi, beautiful new everything, BUT my bed was hard as a rock. I had a pad, but it wasn’t good enough because I was always afraid of bruising myself if I sat down too quickly. haha

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks! 🙂 My bed WAS hard as a rock when I first moved in. After having a really soft bed for the last 3 years (I was blessed I think), I had to do something. So, I bought the thickest, most expensive mattress pad IKEA had. Problem solved! It’s actually really comfy now. Set me back nearly 3000RMB though. Sleep is expensive!

      Reply
  3. Stacey Shubitz

    Loved seeing the peek into your apartment. I felt like I was watching the still life version of “House Hunters International,” which is one of my favorite late night shows. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Jaana

    Loved, loved getting a view of your apartment! Having a place of refuge is so important! I also think that I now need a tea station:-)

    Reply
  5. mfuemmeler

    It’s wonderful when your happy place is your home. Thanks for taking us in yours. I can see why it means so much to you!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Letter A #AtoZChallenge | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

I {heart} comments.