Story

“I want people to know your story.”

This quote, among others, resonated with me last night when I watched A Private War, a movie based on the true story of Marie Colvin, a war correspondent who courageously went to the frontlines of war-torn countries to write the stories behind the wars, to know and tell people’s stories in a way that would make others care to listen and take action.

To me, this is the essence of the Slice of Life Challenge. Through our stories, people get to know and care about one another. People want to know your story, and by telling it in an authentic and honest way, they become connected to you and invested in your story.

Through speaking our truth, we reveal ourselves and make genuine connections. Putting the words on the page takes courage, as we might not get it right all the time. Writing our stories is essentially putting ourselves out there for the world to see. Some parts may be pretty, others may not, but that’s real life.

This year I haven’t put myself out there as much as I have in the past. My stories have been more on the superficial, easygoing side. As we glide into the second half of this challenge, I’m going to strive to speak my truth and tell my story in an authentic way, because I want people to know my story.

slice-of-life_individual

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Story

  1. Elisabeth Ellington

    My stories this year have also been more on the superficial and easygoing side. For whatever reason, that’s what I’ve been wanting to write. But your post has definitely led me to some reflection about that. And now I really want to see this movie. I love how it sparked powerful thoughts for you about story and how we connect through story.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I highly recommend you check it out! I knew nothing about it, but when the Marvel movie was sold out, we went to see this one on a whim. It’s a powerful, intense, and moving story. I hope you find some deeper and more meaningful stories to share. I know I intend to.

      Reply
  2. Amanda Regan

    I agree with everything you said. Writing does take courage because you are putting yourself out there. I have often compared it to standing naked on a street corner. I think, like you, I have shied away from some of the heavier topics, partly because I haven’t wanted to confront some of them, which writing would require me to do, and partly because I have gotten the idea that that’s not what people want to read. Thank you for sharing your reflection. You’ve given me something to think about.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      That’s exactly what it’s like! I also think that maybe people wouldn’t want to read it. That reminds me of a quote I read that said “If you imagine the world listening, you’ll never write a line….You should write first drafts as if they will never be shown to anyone.” (Erika Jong) I am guilty of not doing this. I’m going to work on it.

      Reply
  3. BethMooreSchool

    Thank you for your thoughtful reflection. Some days are just quick write days, and others are more introspective. Luckily, there’s room in the world for all kinds of writing! xoxo

    Reply
  4. Terje

    “Putting the words on a page takes courage” – the tougher the story the more vulnerable people feel. I think there is room for all sorts of slices, different topics, different emotions, different length, different depth – it shows life as it is.

    Reply
  5. readingteachsu

    So many amazing thing about this community especially the thoughtful comments from our fellow writers. I think we write what comes to us at the time. Sometimes the struggles are close to the surface and others the joy is what comes through. Truth can be quiet as well.

    Reply
  6. karpenglish

    One of the things I really like about the Slice of Life challenge is that feeling of connecting and “knowing” people only through their writing. It is not a feeling that I get from other types of reading or writing. In previous years, I have struggled with the “must write something meaningful” issue, because having an audience is hard, and I want to have something important enough to say. This year has been more about just getting to write ANYTHING down in the more limited time I have available. Sometimes my truth is just that I am feeling superficial!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      This is very true. You are right. Sometimes the truth is superficial. For me, I feel like I’ve been holding back, which means I’ve not always told my truth. I want to make more of an effort to do this.

      Reply
  7. Jaana

    Thanks for the reminder to see the movie. I had heard Marie and her partner’s interview on NPR a few months ago but then forgot about the movie. Stories, I love reading them, but you are right, the deeper ones are often harder to write about. At least for me, they take more polishing and editing. Perhaps on future Tuesday…

    Reply

I {heart} comments.