Keeping me on my toes

You know how we’re wired for routine and easily become creatures of habit? Like how you quickly become so used to your drive to work, you could do it with your eyes closed. But what happens when that routine or path is disrupted, such as construction causing you to have to take a detour? It shakes you out of your trance and you pay more attention to your surroundings and what’s happening around you, right?

Today, as I was on my way to the gym, I was running late for my training appointment. After my Go-Jek ride from school, I power walked into the mall and headed for the top floor via the escalators. Before I made the turn toward the escalators, I found myself pausing to look up, trying to gauge which direction the escalator on the right was moving. Was it going up or down? I didn’t have time to waste today.

When I first started working out at this gym last year, I quickly fell into a habit. Walk in by the Domino’s entrance and then take the escalator on the right next to Auntie Anne’s up to the fourth floor. A few times in the beginning, I would take my normal path, only to discover that the escalator was going down instead of up. Hmmm…I could have sworn this was the ‘up’ escalator. Maybe I was wrong, I’d think as I second guessed myself and walked to the escalator on the other side.

After this happened to me many times, I realized that the escalators change direction on an inconsistent basis. There doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to the change of direction. Perhaps it’s due to different people turning them on in the morning. Maybe order and consistency doesn’t rank high on their list of priorities. Maybe they want to keep everyone on their toes. Maybe this is just how it’s done in Indonesia. Who knows?

So now, instead of following a set path each time, I have developed a new habit. I look up, determine which escalator I need to take, and head that way. Those escalators always keep me on my toes! I wonder if anyone else notices this, too. Does it bother other people the same way it bothers me?

slice-of-life_individual

10 thoughts on “Keeping me on my toes

  1. showgem

    I would be a bit annoyed with the changing of the up or down of the escalator. I guess over time you can figure out that you watch the escalator to determine which one is going the right way.

    Reply
  2. Amanda Chaiko

    I almost took this story as a metaphor that I really connect to! I’ve spent the whole year convinced I’d be moving from kinder to first grade for the 2019-20 school year, and just got told I’d be staying in K. I know I shouldn’t be annoyed but I kind of am, and I think it’s because of the sudden change in direction.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.