Back to Slicing- SOL #1

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Every year I look forward to March, the month of slicing every day. I look forward to the routine of writing, the pressure of the daily deadlines, revisiting old friends whom I’ve missed all year, the lessons I learn from others, sharing in the triumphs and struggles, and the feedback. As a fifth year slicer, I’m used to it. Used to living my life with wide open eyes, looking for a slice idea to share. I’d like to say that today’s slice came easy, but as I stare at my computer screen, writing, deleting, and writing some more, I’m struggling to come up with a slice to share. I’d like to share a slice that lets you get to know me a bit, something lighthearted and fun, a poem or anecdote full of whimsy and personality perhaps, but I don’t have it in me today.

This week- heck, this past month- has been particularly difficult. Without going into it too much, work has been a series of ups and downs, heartbreaks and disappointments. Being a leader has been hard. Knowing the right thing to do, weighing all the options and making the best decisions under trying circumstances, hasn’t always been clear. I’ve followed my heart and stood up for what I believe to be right, what I believe to be the best decision in the midst of it all, but I’ve learned you can’t make everyone happy. With so many stakeholders, each with their own needs and wants, it feels like you’re walking a tightrope, trying to balance it all and not fall off. I haven’t always been the most popular person. There have been many tears, many my own. But what I’ve realized is that all I can do is take the information I’m given, the situations that are handed to me, and try my best to do what’s right, to stand up for what I believe in. As long as I do that, I can hold my head up high.

Trying times not only show you what you’re made of, but they show you who you can count on. I’m fortunate to be surrounded by loving friends and colleagues who show me their support, listen, and love me through the mess. Without them, I’m not sure how I’d get through it. So as I go into battle tomorrow, I take solace in knowing that my friends have my back. Thank you! I love you guys!

Join the Slice of Life Challenge at Two Writing Teachers! I highly recommend it!

20 thoughts on “Back to Slicing- SOL #1

    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Loralee! There have been both moments of strength and weakness. Here’s hoping I can muster up some more courage for this upcoming week. Thanks for the encouragement!

      Reply
  1. jodimahoney

    Your post resonated with me in many ways. I too, am returning for my 5th year of slicing – both looking forward to the challenge and feeling the pressure. I too, have just live two weeks of enormous work stress that has no end in sight. Although writing about it can’t solve it, it does give us a place to put it.

    Reply
  2. jee young

    It must be hard being an admin! I have a lot of respect for you and all the admin. out there. Dealing with many different things behind closed doors, and all the stress and expectations that comes with it. Glad to hear that you have great friends surrounding and supporting you! I’m excited to read more of your slices.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Jee Young! It isn’t always easy being in administration, but it’s a particularly difficult time in the school’s history right now. Stress is high for all, but you’re right, friends that support make it a little easier.

      Reply
  3. Jaana

    I think your faculty is privileged to have an admin that ponders and reflects on work and that needs to be done. Your teachers have an admin that writers just like we are asking our students to write. So glad to be able to read your slices again!

    Reply
  4. eloularson

    As a first year slicer, it’s nice to know that the stories don’t always come easily, even for veterans. It sounds like you’re living the daily battle that is education in is current state…information flooding from all sides, all asking to be considered top priority. Your reflective stance only makes you more effective.

    Reply
  5. elsie

    I’m glad you are writing, I’m sorry to read there are difficulties in your job. I love that you stay true to your beliefs. Thank goodness for support from friends.

    Reply
  6. readingtothecore

    Sadly, it seems teachers and administrators are facing challenges everywhere. I admire your ability to stay true to your beliefs in the face of a difficult situation. Good luck in the days to come!

    Reply
  7. shaggerspicchu

    You are getting there one day at a time! Keep that chin up and send me a message when you can’t. Love ya Ennif!

    Reply
  8. tomockthekillingbird

    I can relate, though in a shorter cruder philosophy of my own in motto form: the older I get the less I give a shit. Seriously though, I think it’s a marked passage of adulthood to say you can’t please everybody and not worry about it. Next, you’ll be cheating on your taxes and sticking together soap bar slivers into one bar. Go for it!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

