The Perfect Ending to a Stressful Week

I’ll be honest, this week has been pretty shitty. I’ve dealt with some rudeness, hardly had any time during the day due to loads of meetings, been stressed out with the amount of work I’ve had to do, and on top of that, I started my period, which has been unpleasant. I was proud of myself for just making it to Friday.

Tonight, a few friends and I went out to dinner at Donato’s, a pizza place near Hyeopjae Beach. It was my first time here, and let me tell you, this place is legit. The pizzas were made with quality ingredients in a wood-fired oven, something that’s rare to find in Jeju. We each ordered a pizza (mine was the Chevre made with goat cheese from France) and all shared a Caesar salad. The pizza was served with a balsamic glaze and local honey on the side. I loved everything and will definitely be going back.

The conversation was easy, sometimes involving all four of us, but other times, we broke off in twos to chat. We told stories from this week and from years in the past, empathized with one another, laughed (maybe a little too loudly), and teased each other. I enjoyed taking a trip down memory lane and sharing bits of my life from the past decade as an international school teacher, and I loved getting to know my new friends even more through their stories. It was the perfect antidote to a crappy week.

Toward the end of dinner, I went over to say hi to a student from my school who was eating with her family. I noticed her when we got there, and I waved, but she didn’t come to say hi, so I thought I would go to her. She’s one of those students who always has a smile on her face and chats with me whenever she sees me. I also talked with her family briefly, as they were getting ready to leave.

On the drive home, I blasted my 90’s playlist on Spotify and we sang (mostly out of tune) loudly along with the Backstreet Boys, Wilson Phillips, Shania Twain, Hanson, and Boyz II Men, laughing all the way home. My mood was lifted, as I shook off the negativity of the past week. Fridays should always end like this!

18 thoughts on “The Perfect Ending to a Stressful Week

  1. gbrock

    It is amazing how simple kindness can wash away a week of mishaps. Music never hurts the soul either. I’m so glad your week ended with some moments of joy.

    Reply
  2. WOWilkinson

    Thanks for sharing. The food and companionship sounded amazing. I’m glad you could end your week on a high note.

    Reply
  3. vivian chen

    Sounds like a lovely evening! This might be a strange comment, but I loved that you used a curse word at the beginning. I curse like a sailor, but when I’m writing, years of conditioning make me pause before I type and I almost always end up censoring myself with special characters. I think I need to just go for it next time. LOL

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      It was so fun! Haha…how funny! You know, I’m usually like that, too. I even deleted it at first and wrote crappy, but then I thought, no, it WAS shitty. I should just say it like it is. I figured I should be authentic and call it what it was. 🙂

      Reply
  4. elsie

    I was so glad to see the words “Perfect Ending” in your title. I knew the story you would tell would leave me smiling. Not only am I smiling, but my stomach is growling as I think about your pizza. Yum! What a kind family! I hope you rest and relax this weekend and next week is better.

    Reply
  5. Terje

    I am glad your week ended well. You can leave the bad behind and enter the weekend with laughter and good music.

    Reply
  6. Kristy L

    So glad your week ended on a great note. How sweet of your student’s parents! I just love that! Get outside, do some yoga (or whatever relaxes you), and enjoy your weekend. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Alain Tassé

    Shitty weeks come and go but at the end of the day we remember the good ones. With this story your telling, you might only remember the end of this one. Donato’s has been Stephanie’s and my favorite pizza restaurant on Jeju-do. What better than to share this nice place with laughter and new friends… and a free meal! Have a great weekend!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      You’re so right! I’m glad it’s like that. It’d be awful to only remember the bad ones. I’m definitely going back to Donato’s soon! I’ll have to meet you…fellow Jeju-ite! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Sara T.

    Wow what a positive twist on a crappy Friday! Your food looked and sounded amazing. What a kind gesture. My hope was renewed in the human race!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.