Writing Problems #sol18

I’ve been stuck for over an hour. Unable to figure out what to write, racking my brain for the right slice of life to share. The problem is, there’s only one thing on my mind, and I can’t write about it. Well, not here at least. In my position, there are things that happen that are confidential, and blogging about it is pretty much the exact opposite of confidentiality, so herein lies my dilemma.

Despite trying to process how to handle the situation, I will myself to come up with something else to slice about. I mentally review my day, pausing to take note of anything remotely interesting or slice-worthy to write about, but I keep coming up empty. So what do I do? Well, I look for inspiration. I turn to my writer’s notebook, scanning my Slice of Life ideas that fill up two pages. Nothing. Opening Pinterest, an app that’s been collecting dust for a while, I peruse my boards in search of an idea. My “Writing” board calls to me, and in it, I find teaching ideas for writing, along with writerly quotes I’ve collected over the years. As I read through the quotes, I come across one that stops me in my tracks.

“All writing problems are psychological problems. Blocks usually stem from fear of being judged. If you imagine the world listening, you’ll never write a line. That’s why privacy is so important. You should write first drafts as if they will never be shown to anyone.”
~Erica Jong

Boom. That’s it. My writing problem is a psychological problem. Here I am bursting with so much to say, so much I need to work out surrounding a particular issue, but I’m afraid of what people will say. What if the person I’m dealing with with reads my slice? What if other people not related to the issue read my slice and wonder why I wrote about something so private? And this is why I can’t write today, at least not about what is really going on. So instead, I write about my writing problems, and that will have to be enough for now.

13 thoughts on “Writing Problems #sol18

  1. elsie

    Maybe just write for yourself about your issue and see what comes from that train of thought. Some days seem like they don’t have slice worthy moments, but I guess that’s the part of judging in your quote. So I’m guessing there is always a slice. Even if it is as mundane as deciding what to have for dinner. Hope you can work out your issue.

    Reply
  2. Going Global: An International Adventure Series...

    And now go back to the privacy of your paper and own notebook and write what is really on your heart. For now it’s yours and yours alone. For now. That’s what pen names are for……

    Reply
  3. Terje

    Reflective slice. I hope that you wrote privately about what is really bothering you, and maybe you’ll find a way to craft a post that shares the core of your emotion and dilemma, but without the worry of the person’s reactions.

    Reply
  4. Ashley ❤ (@AshleyLS_16)

    It’s so hard to not include this community when we have a problem, but there are other communities and relationships to think about too. Hope you had a way of sharing your story and working through it in a way that helps you like writing a blog post would. Maybe just write the draft and then deleting it?

    Reply
  5. standingtall47

    This is great! I too have had this problem recently. I journal for myself every night which helps. But blogging is entirely different because of the audience. I like the idea of adding a Pinterest board of writing ideas too. Thanks!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.