A Glimpse of My Place #sol16 3 of 31

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

You know how Facebook has those reminders of ‘things that happened on this day’? They’re always fun to look at and let you take a little stroll down memory lane. Today’s inspiration comes from a Facebook memory. I was reminded that 2 years in a row I wrote about my apartments in Shanghai for my third slice of life, so I figured, why not write about my place in Albania for slice number three?

Prior to moving to Albania, my school sent us some pictures of several apartments to choose from, but we were also given the option of waiting until we arrived to find a place, but places would be on a first-come, first-served basis. Most of the options were not great in my opinion, so I was nervous about waiting to look for a place until I came for fear that there would be even fewer options available. One place seemed like it would work, so I timidly accepted it. I was cautious because if we claimed a place before arriving and didn’t like it when we looked at it, we couldn’t change our minds.

All my fears were assuaged when I arrived on that hot, sticky day in August. My landlords met me at my new place at 10:00pm, after my delayed flight, and showed me around my flat. I fell in love with my landlords straight away, since they were so welcoming and sweet. I quickly fell in love with my place, too, as it definitely looked better in person than it did in the pictures. The first thing that I noticed was just how big it was! It’s a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom flat that’s 1700 square feet…and I live alone! All of my apartments in Shanghai were much smaller, and double the price. I also loved that it was furnished, and I mean fully furnished! The kitchen was stocked with all the dishes, pots and pans, and serving dishes I could ever need. All the beds (4) had two sets of bedding each and loads of blankets. I even had lots of rugs to use on marble floor when the cold winter arrived. This was a completely foreign concept to me as an expat, as I’m used to dropping a lot of money in the first month buying all the essentials I need.Β The thing I love most about my place is that it feels like home. It’s comfortable, and I’m able to host parties and gatherings with large numbers of people, which is something I value very much.

It looks a little differently today, as I’ve added my personal touches, but here are the pictures from when I first moved in. Take a tour of my place with me…

IMG_3032From the front door looking in

IMG_3041
The living and dining rooms

IMG_3045
Another view of the living room

IMG_3043
The kitchen…notice the dishwasher?!? I haven’t had one of these in 5 years!

IMG_3049
The balcony…now much more inviting, as it’s filled with plants πŸ™‚

IMG_3056
My bedroom…the dark picture has since been replaced with a map of the world πŸ™‚

IMG_3055
Another view of my bedroom…the furniture is a little over the top, don’t you think? πŸ˜‰

IMG_3035
My bathroom…yep, that’s a bidet! I use it to wash my feet. hehe

IMG_3036
My ‘spaceship’ shower…seriously this thing is amazing! It lights up, plays music, has jets in the tub and on the side, has a rain shower, and apparently has the capability of taking phone calls, but I’ve yet to try out that feature! πŸ™‚

IMG_3037
I have a washer AND a dryer…something almost completely unheard of! While I still hang my clothes most of the time, it’s nice to have for those cold, wet, dark days of winter.

IMG_3040
Guest room #1, bed #1

IMG_3039
Guest room #1, bed #2

IMG_3047
Guest room #2

IMG_3034
Guest bathroom

IMG_3050
View from my bedroom

IMG_3053
View from the kitchen

Thanks for taking a tour of my place…hope you enjoyed it! I have plenty of room if you ever fancy a visit to Tirana, Albania!

 

28 thoughts on “A Glimpse of My Place #sol16 3 of 31

  1. Kimberley

    That’s like a palace! I’m so glad you stopped by my blog because I’ve always wanted the life you are living and now I get to live it by reading your blog. How fabulous to learn how many other people and children live in our world.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      haha…It kind of is a palace! I love living abroad, meeting new people, experiencing new things, and challenging myself. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Wendy

    Oh, wow! I’m amazed that you have a dryer and dishwasher in a European flat! I haven’t travelled as widely as you, but I have lived in the Baltics. My husband and I spent a year in Riga, Latvia in a furnished flat–one bedroom, small kitchen (no oven, just a stove and a microwave), bathroom, and living room. It was so clean and uncluttered that it felt spacious all the same. When I’d lived in small Latvian villages when I was single, my setup was even more minimal. Your place looks modern, urban, and elegant. I’ll be reading more of your blog to find out about life in Albania.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I know! I was so amazed, too! Oven, dishwasher, and dryer…it’s like the holy trifecta of apartments. I haven’t been to Latvia yet, but I definitely want to travel the Baltics while I’m here. Where do you suggest I go? Thanks for stopping by for a peek!

      Reply
  3. Melanie Roy

    This was such a fun post! I felt like I was in an episode of House Hunters International on HGTV! Thank you for taking your readers through a tour of your apartment. It is beautiful and I can see why you love it. Do you move internationally for a teaching position?

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Melanie! I would LOVE to be on that show! I originally moved abroad (to Shanghai) for a teaching position, but I have since moved into administration. I moved to Tirana as the Head of Primary School.

      Reply
  4. elsie

    What a great place! I bet others were jealous that they didn’t snatch this place up when they came over for a visit. You can be sure I will let you know if I ever make it to Albania. πŸ™‚ Of course you will probably be off on another adventure and not be home.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      There may be a bit of jealousy…;) But I make good use of it and always have people over. You let me know if you decide to come, and I’ll make sure I’m here to show you around! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. MaryHelen

    Totally fun place to hang and call home. The sunshine on the balcony will probably be a place to relax. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and pictures.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Jess! I’ve hosted a few new teachers when they first arrived, but I’ve yet to have any friends or family from the states come to visit. Hopefully next year!

      Reply
  6. Jacki Lyon

    What a great space! Looks like you will have a welcoming home for entertaining and making new memories here. I’m a bit jealous of that space age shower. πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  7. b

    I loved touring your apartment for slice 3. Fascinating to hear about the differences between your current and former places! Thanks for bringing us into your world today.

    Reply
  8. Dana Murphy

    This was fun. I’m super nosy about other people’s homes and loved getting a glimpse at yours in such a foreign place. πŸ™‚ It’s very cool and very home-y. That shower is fantastic!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Letter A #AtoZChallenge | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

I {heart} comments.

