Writing Can Change the World- SOL #9

It doesn’t matter how many times I watch this video, I fall in love with it every time.

Lucy Calkins, one of the most inspirational and influential writers and writing teachers of our time, shares some nuggets of wisdom with writers the world over. She reminds us to read our writing like it’s gold. What a difference that makes. Honoring our words by reading them like they’re gold really does make the difference. Finding the parts that work and keeping them, and reworking the parts that need a little tweaking is how we improve our writing. And writing can change the world. Words carry so much meaning and depth and they have the power to move mountains. It makes me wonder how I will choose my words carefully, how I will change the world with my words.

As I participate in the Two Writing Teachers Slice of Life Challenge, I am reminded again that writing can change the world, and that when we write, we share a little piece of who we are. So, no matter how rushed we might be when we write, no matter how much we think we could have done better, we must read our writing like it’s gold. All of us deserve to honor our own writing and the writing of others.

This writing community has been just what I’ve needed this month, during what has proven to be the most difficult time of my life thus far. Thank you all for your comments. They may not have changed the world, but they have changed me, and I truly appreciate it!

10 thoughts on “Writing Can Change the World- SOL #9

  1. debbussewitz

    This is a video that I love and often use as I introduce teachers or coaches to writers’ workshop. It can change the world. AND my writing always changes my world.

    Reply
  2. alwriting

    One of the key benefits of being a writer is that it encourages reflection. Your piece provides ample evidence of your capacity to be a reflective writer.

    Reply
  3. Teaching Wanderlust

    What a perfect video for the SOL challenge! I have read a lot of her work, but this is the first time I’ve seen a video of Lucy Calkins. What an inspiring video! I want to change the world with my words too!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.