Currently…

I’m currently listening to the din of conversations around me drowned out by the lo-fi music playing over the speakers. Everyone seems engaged in what the person across from them is saying, as I notice I’m the only solo diner.

I’m currently drinking the most delicious, frothy, cinnamonny chai latte I’ve ever had. I wish I had one more day here to indulge.

I’m currently eating a hot crumpet topped with grilled halloumi and a dollop of spiced mascarpone, drizzled with chili honey, and dusted with chopped pecans and diced chives. My tastebuds are having a party with this combo of sweet and savory.

I’m currently reading slices that I’ve missed over the last few full-on days. It feels like I’m checking back in on my friends, seeing what they’ve been up to in my absence.

I’m currently enjoying the edge-of-autumn weather, as I sit outside under a blanket of trees in the cutest cafe in Adelaide.

I’m currently thinking about all the new ideas I gathered at the IB Global Conference, wondering what I’ll investigate further, what I’ll share with my colleagues, and what I’ll give a pass.

I’m currently hoping for an uneventful, easy journey home. I begin the trek tonight with a flight to Sydney, followed by a sleep at an airport hotel, then an early morning flight to Seoul. I’m hoping I can sleep on the plane so that when I arrive home late Wednesday night, I’m well-rested for work on Thursday.

I’m currently wishing we had a Slice of Life Conference so that I can meet up with all my slicer friends. My vote would be for somewhere like Bali or Bangkok or Paris or anywhere in Australia…basically all of my favorites. I’d love to see the slices we’d write after a holiday in one of these interesting locations full of beautiful sights, delicious food, and gorgeous weather (if we go at the right time!). Who’s in? 😉

8 thoughts on “Currently…

  1. Fran Haley

    Oh, that chai latte and crumpet look and sound DIVINE. Cinnamon is my favorite spice… I bet they taste especially wonderful after your recent illness. I’ve been told Sydney is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I’d love to see it. I’ve wanted to see Australia since I was small, because of koalas. Beginning each paragraph with “I’m currently…” creates a lyrical feel. I am currently wishing you safe travels. That Slicer meet-up sounds like a dream!

    Reply
  2. Celia Fisher

    Lovely slice and I know just where you are. Glad you’ve got some fine autumn weather and such delicious food to enjoy. I’m all in with the idea of a slicer conference… in Australia..? …just perfect for me..!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: It’s Over Already?!? | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

I {heart} comments.