Year 7, Day 1.

I can’t believe that today is the first day of my seventh Slice of Life Story Challenge! I have soย been looking forward to March 1st, for a number of reasons. For one, I know the challenge will kick start my writing again. I’ve been stagnant for a while now, and the SOLSC always gets me revved up for writing! Secondly, I am excited to get back into the SOL community again, as well as meet new writing friends around the world. And lastly, 2016 was a rough year (like a really rough year) for me. One of my goals for 2017 was to get back to being “me” and a big part of that is tapping into the writer in me. For these reasons and more, I’m ready to begin this challenge. Bring it on!

For those of you who don’t know me yet, here’s some insight into who I am.

My name’s Jennifer, and while I’m originally from Texas, I’m currently living and working in Bangkok, Thailand. I’ve been an expat for the past seven years, and so far I’ve lived in Sydney, Shanghai, Albania, and now Bangkok.

I’m majorly obsessed with goat cheese. It’s pretty much one of the best foods ever invented. I like it plain, on crackers or bread, on pasta, in a quiche, with some figs or jam or nuts, on a pizza, on a sandwich…well, pretty much on anything!

I’m really into neon and bright colors, and the fact that I can’t wear anything but dark, neutral colors at the moment (the king died in Bangkok and everyone’s in mourning for a year) is slowly killing me.

I am soooo in love with the TV show This is Us. It tugs at my heart strings and makes me cry nearly every episode, but the characters are so real and lovable that I can’t get enough. I totally love Randall and Jack. OMG…if you are not watching this show, you are missing out!

I’m currently teaching preschool, and while it’s totally new to me, I’m actually loving it (most of the time anyway). I have the cutest class of students on the planet who keep me smiling all day. Even when I’m frustrated with them, they still make me laugh. Oh, and I get hugs all day long, so I’m pretty sure I have the coolest job ever.

My family is really important to me, and while I only see them twice a year, I enjoy the time we have together. I try to make time for each of them while I’m home. It helps me feel closer to them since I miss out on so much the rest of the year.

I model, seek out, and connect to authenticity, honesty, vulnerability, and openness.

I’m a travel addict. I’ve been to 5 continents and 35 countries so far, and yet there’s still so much more out there I haven’t seen! I revel in the anticipation of a trip, and once I’m there, I love finding the little treasures that exist and make this place special. My style of travel is more unplanned and spontaneous. I go with a very loose plan of what I want to do, but am open to possibilities that present themselves. I much prefer seeing more of one place than seeing more places, so I’m likely to stay in one city longer rather than bounce around from city to city or country to country.

I’m a fellow soul searcher, seeking happiness in the small moments in life. While I acknowledge hardships (at some points in my life, more often than I’d like), I tend to focus on the positive aspects that life presents.

I love to laugh and make others laugh. When I’m super excited about something, I usually do some sort of ridiculous dance, which is pretty hilarious given my total lack of rhythm.

I’m really excited to begin this month-long journey with you, and I look forward to getting to know you more through your words. Write on!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

If you’d like to join me in the Slice of Life Challenge this year, head over to Two Writing Teachers for more info!

 

18 thoughts on “Year 7, Day 1.

  1. Alice Nine

    Glad you are here, Jennifer. We have some common ground: I love traveling. I’ve been to Thailand several times, will always remember my first night in Bangkok. I loved each trip.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Alice! Don’t you just love Bangkok? And Thailand din general? It’s such a beautiful country! Why will you always remember your first night in BKK?

      Reply
      1. Alice Nine

        Yes. But I loved the jungle villages even more! That is where I spent most of the time. That first night… after hours of flying, the guys insisted that we visit the night market. It was like pages from a storybook…

  2. elsie

    What a change from Albania! Can’t wait to read more about what you’ve been up to and where you’ve been (besides Morocco). Bummer on the clothes for a year!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      You beat me to it! I just saw you posted and I was gonna comment first. Lol ๐Ÿ˜‚ Anyway, yes it’s a big change, but a good one! I might write more about it this month. I’ll for sure write more about my travels. Can’t wait to share! The clothes are certainly a bummer. Oh well! Glad to be back and can’t wait to read your posts!

      Reply
  3. Adrienne

    Even though I read your posts before, I hadn’t realized you’ve taught in so many places. I tend to wear earth tines and once, a 4th grade student asked me if I was ever going to wear color. Oops. I started adding brighter colors to my wardrobe.

    Reply
  4. Amy Warntz

    What an exciting life you have! I look forward to reading your posts during this challenge. And, wow, you have participated seven times! This is year two for me.

    Reply
  5. Dana Murphy

    My writing life has been stagnant too, so I am approaching this year’s challenge with some trepidation. Already, I feel my love for writing seep back into my bones.

    I LOVE This Is Us. Love, love, love. Best show on TV.

    The part about the whole nation being in mourning is fascinating to me. I’ve never heard of such a custom!

    Reply
  6. Turning Pages in Life's Story

    I love your enthusiasm! It makes me excited to begin this challenging journey! This is my first year trying this challenge.
    Also, I just had to comment because I absolutely love This is Us! It makes me so sad when it’s not on… throws my whole week off.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Yay!! So glad you are on the challenge! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s seriously life-changing. Oh and This is Us is TV GOLD!! So glad you like it, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I’m so glad to have met you! You are such a sweet, loving soul…goodness oozes out of your pores! Also, I’m super stoked you joined the SOL Challenge this year! Yay for writing buddies!

      Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Hey Stacey! Thanks for stopping by! I’m so glad to be back, too! ๐Ÿ™‚ This is Us is seriously the BEST show on TV…so glad you’ve found it.

      Reply

I {heart} comments.

