Side Trip to Saly, Senegal #sol16 21 of 31


My trip to Senegal has been good, but I’ve been under the weather since Saturday. I have developed a pretty bad cough for some reason. I went to the pharmacy today and got some medicine, so hopefully I’ll start feeling better soon. There’s nothing worse than being sick on holiday!  

Anyhow, I am no longer in Dakar. My friend Sally, who works with me in Albania, happens to be in Senegal, too, so we took a side trip to a nice beach area about 80km away from Dakar. Upon arrival, I was so excited. This place is gorgeous and so laid back. The resort we are staying at is a short walk to the beach, has a lovely pool area, and a spa for massages and pedicures. One downside is very spotty Internet. I’m sitting in the bar area at the moment trying to blog, as this is the only place to get any wifi. I’m thinking my blogging will be short this week as a result of this situation.  

We took a walk down to the beach today, where I was able to dip my toes into the Atlantic for the first time. It was freezing!  As we meandered along, we saw loads of men in speedos and topless women. Not at all what I expected! I do not get the appeal of walking around topless on the beach. That doesn’t seem remotely fun to me. After laying by the pool to read, I got a pedicure and we went to dinner. It was really nice. They even had a live band playing while we ate.

Looking forward to what tomorrow has in store. Hoping that my cough goes away for sure!!

9 thoughts on “Side Trip to Saly, Senegal #sol16 21 of 31

I {heart} comments.