My Next Adventure!

I earned the title of expat and international educator 14 years ago, when I made my initial move overseas and took up a post in Shanghai. Since then, I’ve lived and worked in five different countries- China, Albania, Thailand, Indonesia, and South Korea. While there have definitely been some bumps along the way, I completely love the expat lifestyle and all it has to offer- cultural immersion, lots of travel opportunities, new experiences, and the chance to meet so many new people!

I’m completing my fourth year at Branksome Hall Asia in Jeju, South Korea, and the past four years have been truly rewarding. My school is amazing, and I have been given some remarkable opportunities here. I’ve also made incredible connections and lifetime friends. For the most part, the students here love learning and are passionate about excellence in all they do; they inspire me! Jeju is full of natural beauty, and its rural nature has afforded me a slower pace of life, which was a welcome respite after the busyness of Jakarta.

While I have loved my time here, as the saying goes, all good things must come to an end. Back in September, I began thinking about what I would do next year, as the date to make a decision about whether or not to extend my contract was near (mid-October). I started the school year convinced I would sign on for year number five, however, after a non-stop first two months, the pace of everything was becoming unsustainable. I was getting sick more often, lacked energy, and all I did was work, work, work. I didn’t feel drawn to another school or country (I love my school and living in Jeju, remember?), but I did feel that a change was needed. I didn’t want to burn out and quit education altogether, as many educators are doing lately. That’s when this little seed was planted in the back of my mind…what if I took a sabbatical?

At first, I rejected the idea. How was I, a workaholic, going to survive a year not working? What the heck would I even do with all that time? Could I afford to take a year off and not earn an income? What would future employers say about it? Being the planner that I am, I jumped straight into research mode, consuming everything I could about the topic, from blog posts to YouTube videos, to books and articles. I managed to fill 25 pages in my journal one weekend! The more I learned, the more the idea didn’t seem so strange. Maybe I could do this…

After a few more weeks of research, lots of reflection, and many Facetime sessions with my closest friends and family members, I made the decision. I was going to take a year off. Whew! Once I had made the decision, I felt peace about it and knew it was exactly what I needed to do. The way I see it, everybody works for decades and decades until they’re old enough to retire, and then they do the traveling and resting that they want to do. Why do I have to wait another 20 years? Why not now?

Since then, I’ve done a ton more research and lots and lots of reflection, journaling, and planning. My year-long sabbatical is going to be a year for me to focus on my health and wellbeing and to rediscover who I am once my titles and responsibilities at work are stripped away. During my sabbatical, I will be slow traveling around the world as well as spending more time at home with my family. I’ll even get to spend my first Thanksgiving with my family in fifteen years! I can’t wait!

I’m so excited about my sabbatical plan, and while everything isn’t 100% ironed out, I have a good idea about where I’ll be.

  • My first stop after school lets out is a Wellness Retreat in Bali, Indonesia, where I’ll kick start my year of health and wellbeing and relax from the stress of the end of the year!
  • Next, I’ll head back home to Texas for a month in the summer.
  • I’ll head abroad again, with my first stop being Sofia, Bulgaria, where I’ll live like a local for a month. Bonus: My friend Brook lives there, so I’ll get to spend time with her!
  • Once the fall hits, I’ll head to Tuscany, where I’ll spend a month in Lucca, Italy, a smallish city about an hour and a half from Florence. I’m looking forward to all the delicious pasta and pizza!
  • Next stop is Budapest, Hungary, where I’ll stay in the city center and soak up big city life. I’ll take a weekend trip to visit my friend Sara, who lives about 2 hours away. I haven’t seen her in eight years!
  • My last stop before heading home will be Marrakech, Morocco, where I’ll spend a week with Bec, who’s meeting me there on her fall break from school. We are looking forward to a girls’ trip together!
  • I’ll spend all of November and December back home in Texas, where I’ll get to visit with family for much more time than I normally do.
  • After the new year, I’ll head to Asia. My first stop will be Chiang Mai, Thailand, where I’ll spend a month eating delicious curries and mango sticky rice and lounging in the sun by the pool.
  • Next up is a quick stop in Phnom Penh, Cambodia to visit some friends. I hope I get to see a fellow slicer, Erika, too!
  • Following Cambodia, I’ll head to India, where I’ll spend a month traversing the country, starting in New Delhi in the north and ending in Kerala in the south.
  • Next up is Tbilisi, Georgia, where I’ll spend about 6 weeks taking in the local culture.
  • Lastly, I’ll head to southern Africa, where I’ll go on a safari (or two!) in Botswana and Namibia and check out the foodie scene in Cape Town, South Africa.

I’m truly excited for this next chapter, and I can’t wait for all the adventures, new people I’ll meet along the way, and incredible food I’ll get to try!

Image Source: Free Vector

36 thoughts on “My Next Adventure!

  1. Terje

    Exciting! You made a brave decision and having made the decision was already good for your well-being. Your planning skills are impressive and the plan rich and inviting. Taking the time for yourself to “rediscover who I am once my titles and responsibilities at work are stripped away” is such a big and valuable self-discovery journey. Will you be blogging all year to record the discoveries (out and inside)?

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Terje! I am prioritizing my wellbeing and it feels good! I enjoy planning a lot, and it’s part of the fun for me. I’ve definitely left a lot up to spontaneity when I’m in each location, but not having a plan is so not me! I’m looking forward to the self-discovery even more than the traveling. I’ll definitely be blogging about experiences and reflections on the journey. One of my goals is to start a new blog about my trip, but I’ll also be posting on here, too.

      Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Elisabeth! I was hesitant to take the leap into the unknown at first, but the months of research since making the decision have made me know it’s the right thing to do for me.

      Reply
  2. cindaroo42

    I’m inspired by all of the time you took to research, think, reflect, plan and talked to loved ones when you were making this decision. You show us that it isn’t an easy decision, but your plans look incredible!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks so much! It was definitely not an easy decision at first, and a little scary to take the leap out of my comfort zone, but I’m really glad it’s happening soon!

      Reply
  3. Glenda Funk

    Aggie,
    This trip sounds amazing, both invigorating and relaxing. All teachers need at least a couple sabbaticals during their careers.We hosted a couple teachers from France years ago, and I learned teachers there get a sabbatical every seven years. I taught 38 years, and one of the main reasons I retired was exhaustion. I was bone tired and could no longer sustain the grind. Keep us all posted about your travels!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Glenda! I have been teaching/working in schools for 20 years now, and I know it’s time for a break. I love what I do, but not feeling the joy as much this year…an indicator that it’s time to take a step away and refresh. 38 years is impressive!! I’ll definitely keep you posted on my travels and discoveries. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Erika

    Scanning the teasers tonight I knew I had to read your slice- where would you be heading next? How exciting! Your plan sounds perfect- planned, but not overly so! I *do* hope you will reach out when you are Phnom Penh! I look forward to following your adventures!

    Reply
  5. onathought

    Wow! Such an amazing traveling life!
    Reading your slice I found myself at the edge of my seat… hoping you would be able to take the year off, and then also wondering about your research and excited to read about your plans! This is so exciting. Wow! What a next chapter to be gearing up for! I hope you write a lot about it!

    Reply
  6. Fran Haley

    Aggie–it’s really Jennifer, right?? Please correct me if I got it wrong — anyway: The sabbatical sounds, in a word, AMAZING. Part of me longs to be your travel buddy, to see it all. How wondrous! I am most grateful that you write, though, as I will get to experience it as if I was alongside you in these places. You’re so right about taking the time to travel now and not wait 20 years. I recall – in another life, almost – when I worked for a bank and a customer needed to get into her safe deposit box. I let her into the vault, and she looked at me with the saddest eyes: “My husband and I were saving up to do things when we retire… and now he’s gone and never got to enjoy any of it.” This line from your post strikes me deeply: “My year-long sabbatical is going to be a year for me to focus on my health and wellbeing and to rediscover who I am once my titles and responsibilities at work are stripped away.” Oh, how I applaud you!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Haha…it is Jennifer! 😉 Wow…that’s a really sad story, and one I didn’t want to happen to me. We aren’t guaranteed the future and who knows what will happen. Will I be healthy enough to do everything I want to do when I’m in my 60s? I hope so, but who knows, really? That’s why, after 20 years in education, it’s time for a break. I’m looking forward to going back refreshed after my sabbatical. I wish you could come along, too…I think we’d have a great time! 🙂 I’ll definitely be writing about my experiences. One of my goals is to create a new blog to document my sabbatical, but I’ll also blog on this one, too. I’ll post my new site once it’s up and running, so you can follow along there if you’d like.

      Reply
  7. Celia Fisher

    That sounds so exciting. No wonder you filled a journal with all those thoughts and travel plans! I went to Marrakech a million years ago on a safari trip and that place remains one of my favourites! Cape Town is my favourite town of this past decade, despite its sad history (do go to Robin Island if you can). Safaris are so much fun, I’d love to visit Botswana (seems the only stable country in Africa!) Any chance you could pop into our school on your trip to India (it is a bit out of the way, so I quite understand if you can’t)?
    Enjoy, nothing beats travelling and you’ve chosen some gorgeous places and obviously have friends in the right locations! Tuscany is a place I dream of visiting… have you thought about Greece at all?

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Celia! I am really looking forward to it starting in a few months. 🙂 I watched a documentary episode on Marrakech last night…I can’t wait to get lost in the medina! I’ve heard so many good things about Cape Town- I’ll add Robin Island to my list. I’d love to visit your school if I could- where is it? My itinerary is set for India already, but if it’s nearby one of the places I’m going, I’ll pop over. I’ve visited Greece several times already, particularly when I lived in Albania, so I don’t feel the pull to go there right now, but it is a lovely country with delicious food and people!

      Reply
      1. Celia Fisher

        Robin Island brings you closer to Mandela and the enormity of what he did (though the sea crossing isn’t the best!). We are in an out of the way place, it’s Meghalaya and several hours drive from the airport, so unlikely you would fit it in. Where else are you going? I have good friends in Hyderabad. I visited a Greek island before the first hotel was built there, we slept on the beach! Those days are long gone, I’d probably hate it now! They used to take you to the back of the restaurant and pick whatever you wanted to eat from the displayed dishes, so good!

  8. natashadomina

    Wow! You have such an exciting year planned! I am feeling envious of all the exciting places you’re going. I think a year of sabbatical is a great idea. I once took a year leave-of-absence from my school–and did other education related work, but the break from my usual routine was wonderful. I came back so refreshed and excited to be there again. I think all teachers (really, everyone) should have the opportunity to take sabbaticals!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Natasha! I am glad you were able to take a leave of absence. I bet that was refreshing! I initially considered doing that, but after more research and deliberation, I ultimately decided that what I need right now is a complete break to recharge. I agree that everyone should have this opportunity! 🙂

      Reply
  9. cmargocs

    All I could think of while reading your post was “Wow!” I am in awe of your independence and adventuresome spirit. I can only imagine what writing will come of it all. Congratulations on making this big decision and such wonderful plans.

    Reply
  10. britt

    I AM SO JEALOUS! This is incredible, and I hope you slice all throughout your adventures!! 😜 Fellow Texan here; welcome home. Hehe

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Britt! I don’t think I know you were a Texan, too! What a coincidence. 🙂 I will definitely be slicing about my adventures…I can’t wait to document it!

      Reply
  11. Denise Krebs

    Wow, Jennifer! I would not have thought this was the next adventure. How very amazing that you figured out you would be able to pull it off. I agree that it is very wonderful that you will do this travel adventure at least 20 years before retirement. Hooray! Your blog headline is perfect. I hope you will document the whole year here!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      haha…thanks Denise! If you’d asked me 6 months ago, I wouldn’t have thought it would have been my next adventure either. However, I know it’s the right thing for me to do at this point in my life to avoid burnout. I will definitely be blogging about my experiences on here, but I’ll also start a new blog as well to document my sabbatical. I’ll keep you posted on that URL once I decide on it. 🙂

      Reply
  12. karpenglish

    This sounds positively amazing! I can’t wait for next year’s Year in Pictures post to see all of the adventures! I am very excited for you. Also…a sabbatical? This is a thing we get to do? I thought teacher sabbaticals had gone out the window with things like funding for classroom supplies. Or maybe were just an urban legend to trick the gullible first year teachers! 🙂

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thank you!! It does sound amazing…and I’m really ready for it. Although, I think it won’t actually hit me that I’m not working for a year until August, when I “should” be back at work. 😉 So it isn’t really a sabbatical in the traditional sense, as in, I am not leaving my job here for one year with intentions to return to Jeju. I’ve just not renewed my contract for next year. They’ve hired my replacement already. I will start looking for a job for 2025-2026 this Sept-Dec. The international school hiring timeline starts much earlier than schools back home. Wish you could come with me! It sounds like you could use a break, too.

      Reply
      1. karpenglish

        Wow, that is a long hiring timeline and kind of makes the beginning of your year of adventures a little bit stressful. It will be nice to know that you have everything planned out for the post-sabbatical end of the year though.

  13. Pingback: Cooking Sunday | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

  14. Stacey Shubitz

    Your sabbatical plans sounds fantastic! The itinerary you created, with ample time back in Texas, sounds phenomenal. I cannot wait to read more about it in the months to come!

    Reply
  15. Pingback: Six Word Memoirs- Sabbatical Edition | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

I {heart} comments.