Summer Plans- 2023

Planning for the summer is always exciting…Who am I going to see? Where am I going to go? What needs to be booked? When I went home last Christmas, I didn’t get to see many people. The holiday was a week shorter than it usually is thanks to the earlier Lunar New Year break this year, plus I got the flu on Christmas Eve, which knocked me out for a week and led me to cancel many of my plans.

I have just over a month off this year, and unlike last year, when I traveled to Texas, Canada, and England, this year I’m staying put in the US. I’m looking forward to spending more quality time with people, rather than the fast-paced rhythm of last summer. I have planned a few trips this summer. In addition to those, I have a list of things I want to do and people to see.

I’m thrilled to get Aunt Kathy to myself this summer. We have booked two nights in a tiny home in Waco, Texas. Neither one of us have stayed in a tiny home before, but have always wanted to see what it’s like. While we’re there, we’ll visit the Magnolia Silos, Chip and Joanna Gaines’ place, and shop in the boutiques and antique shops in the local area.

Due to Covid, our annual Kesler family reunion hasn’t happened since 2019, but this year, we are back! I’m looking forward to having everyone together once again, as the house is always full of family, fun, food, and lots of laughs!

Here’s the last time we were all together…miss all these smiling faces! 🙂

One thing I try to do every summer is attend an Astros game. There’s something magical about being at the ballpark. The energy from the fans, the ballpark fare, the Friday night fireworks…I can’t get enough of it! Let’s go Astros!

Since they were three, I’ve taken Randi and Logan (my niece and nephew) on a “date,” where they get to spend the day with me doing anything they want to do. It’s such a fun tradition, and we look forward to it each summer and Christmas when I’m home. Since Covid happened, I missed several of our dates. To make up for, I took them on a three-day double-date last year, where we stayed in a fancy hotel in Houston, swam until our fingers turned into raisins, saw the off-Broadway production of Frozen, attended an Astros game, and went to the Houston Aquarium. They were big fans of the double-date! This year’s trip will be to Dallas, where we’ll stay in a nice hotel with a big pool, spend a day at Six Flags (they’ve never been!), play games at Dave and Buster’s, see a movie, play at Kidzania, and go skydiving indoors. I hope they love it as much as last year’s trip!

Here we are on top of the ferris wheel at the aquarium last year!

The last time I visited Nashville was when I was 8, and I don’t really remember it. My mom, dad, and I are taking a 4-day trip to the country music capital in July. I’ve enjoyed researching all of the things we will do while we are there, especially all the delicious food we will eat! Nashville is known for their hot chicken (I’m hoping they have hot tofu or cauliflower for me), biscuits, sweet tea, donuts, and “meat and three” (I’ll just stick with the three!). We will definitely catch some live music while we are there at the Grand Ole Opry and some honky tonk bars. If you have any Nashville recommendations, send them my way!

Other things on my list include:

  • Spending lots of time with my family…can’t wait to get lots of hugs from Blayke, Randi, and Logan!
  • Visiting my Aunt Alva, Uncle David, and cousins in Tyler, TX
  • Eating at all my favorite places- Casa Rodriguez, Stella’s, Shipley’s, Rx Pizza
  • Target trips!
  • Hanging out with my friends I haven’t seen in a while- Nicole, Sonia, Robin, Suzie, Anela
  • A day trip to Austin to go shopping and eat at my favorite places
  • Going fishing with my dad…and by fishing, I mean riding around the lake in his boat while munching on snacks. I made the mistake of asking him to take me fishing last summer and we actually had to go fishing. It was super boring! 😛

What are you looking forward to this summer?

17 thoughts on “Summer Plans- 2023

  1. Glenda Funk

    Sounds as though you have a fun summer planned. I was in Nashville last summer. It was crowded in June, so book early. Maybe the Cardinals will play the Astros when you’re there. I’ll be rooting for the Cards. Sorry not sorry. When I travel back to Missouri I love to see my favorite team play as you do. Have a fun? healthy summer.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Yeah I figured it would be really busy in Nashville. Sadly the Astros aren’t playing while I’m there. More time for music, good food, and shopping!

      Reply
  2. Erika

    Sounds like you have it all laid out- I wish I had my plans sorted. I think I will be in the US for a short time, and then some time in Europe with good friends I am missing. I want dates nailed down already….

    Reply
  3. Terje

    You are such a planner! I like how you mixed the memory with the plans for the future and can now enjoy the sweet anticipation.

    Reply
  4. cindaroo42

    Looks fun!! I think being so purposeful with your time and who you are spending it with is a really great way to make the most out of it! I just watched a show on amazon about that exact tiny air bnb in Waco! (it’s called tiny bnb) Looks really really nice! Enjoy!

    Reply
  5. rdicarne

    Wow, a tiny house in Waco and Magnolia Silos! What a fabulous trip. The rest of your summer sounds great too. I love going to the ballpark. I won’t hold it against you that your Astros beat my Phillies in the World Series last year. 😕❤️⚾️❤️

    Reply
  6. mschiubookawrites

    How cute is your calendar! Listing your plans/goals for the summer gets you closer to achieving them. You inspire me to plan a little for myself. I love how you are planning to spend some quality time with family and friends. Really intrigued by the tiny house- perhaps it will be featured on a future slice…

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I had fun playing around with the calendar on Canva. I usually do a hand-drawn one or make one on my iPad, but I thought it’d be fun to try something different, and it was!

      Reply
  7. Celia Fisher

    The tiny house will be so much fun! The rest of your time sounds super busy. You are certainly very organised with all your planning. It’s wonderful for travel to be pretty much back to normal.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I’m really excited for the tiny house! My summer’s are always jam-packed! haha
      Yes…travel is pretty much back to normal, which makes me super happy!

      Reply

I {heart} comments.