McThai

Today as I was checking my mail, this flyer from McDonald’s caught my attention. It was an ad for their McDelivery service.


I’m always intrigued by what is offered at McDonald’s around the world. I’m not a fan of the fast food chain, but I’ve been to a few in various countries and it always surprises me that their menu differs from country to country. It’s their way of appealing to the local culture and their tastes. While there’s always the typical fare like Big Macs, cheeseburgers, and fries, they have some other interesting things as well.

The dishes on the Thai McDonald’s menu that strike me as unique are the:

  • McPork or McChicken Porridge, both breakfast dishes
  • Namtok Rice, a chicken stir fry served with rice. For an additional price, you can add a fried egg or a cup of soup.
  • Fried pies in a variety of flavors (Apple isn’t one of them)…there’s Chicken Ham Pie, Taro Ginkgo Pie, Corn Pie, and Pineapple Pie
  • Ovaltine or Milky Tea Floats

Have you ever found something unusual on a McDonald’s menu while traveling?

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

14 thoughts on “McThai

  1. lisaorchard1

    It’s always interesting to see what other countries have on their menus. Some of the items look very different than their American counterparts!

    Reply
  2. Alice Nine

    Fast food is interesting in other countries… and the people there think that is what is served in the US. 🙂 I vividly remember the wonderful aroma of Starbucks in Beijing and also in Bangkok…. not because I like Starbucks but because coffee was an aroma of home and I had just experienced a couple weeks each time of so many strange aromas.

    Reply
  3. elsie

    Can’t say I would be a fan of any of the local favorites. Chicken ham pie? It is interesting to see what’s on the menu in U.S. chains in other countries.

    Reply
  4. kindergardencanvas

    I had to stop and take a picture of the McDonalds located near International Arrivals at Charles de Galle in Paris. I was dumbfounded as at first glance it did not to appear to be McDonalds. The display had delicacies as macarons and croissants.

    Reply
  5. karpenglish

    It was fascinating to see the menu and all the different choices. Thanks for including the pictures for those of us who are merely armchair travelers! The pie with the oozing purple stuff is a bit alarming. I’m guessing that was the taro gingko pie? I’ve always heard about the localized differences in McDonald’s around the world, so it was neat to see. Coca-Cola always seems to be Coca-Cola though!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

