I Wish You More…

Amy Krouse Rosenthal, the writer whose format I borrowed for I Wish You More, passed away this week at the age of 51. Gone way too soon. Her light and love shone through in her life, and I admired her so much. As one of my favorite children’s books (and memoir) authors, I shared many of her books with kids and teachers over the years. Her death has hit me hard, and in honor of her, I give you this poem. AKR, this is for you! I wish you more love and happiness than pain.

img_0634

I wish you more stamps than pages.

I wish you more tries than give-ups.

I wish you more what now’s than what if’s.

I wish you more quality than quantity.

I wish you more spicy than mild.

I wish you more books than shelves.

I wish you more oh yeahs! than oh nos!

I wish you more yummy than yucky.

I wish you more happy endings than cliffhangers.

I wish you more calm waters than crashing waves.

I wish you more bright than dull.

I wish you more grey than black and white.

I wish you more friends than followers.

I wish you more adventure than aversion.

I wish you more sunny than stormy.

I wish you more questions than answers.

I wish all of this for you,

because you are everything I could wish for…

and more.

19 thoughts on “I Wish You More…

  1. lindabaie

    Wonderfully done, Aggie. Amy left everyone with her lovely books, of course, but with an outlook for life we will remember.

    Reply
  2. Lisa Keeler

    I cannot get her dying off my mind… she was so insightful and clever and observant and wise and funny and serious… and good. The book I Wish You More is one of my favorites. Just love it. And your list is beautiful. More books than shelves and quality than quantity are among my favorites from your list.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

