Year in Photos 2016

Sometimes pictures are better than words. They can tell more of a story, inviting the reader to infer their meaning, ask questions about their significance to the writer, and wonder what happened before and after the snapshot was taken. I’ve been telling a story of my year in photos for the past couple of years (click here for my year in photos for 2014 and 2015), and it is an exercise I enjoy, looking back through my year’s photos, deciding which ones to include and which ones are better left out. Without further adieu, here is my 2016 year in photos, in chronological order.

img_0036img_0022img_0097img_0360img_7741img_7687img_7712img_7721img_0699IMG_0814img_7651img_1248img_7947img_1401img_1644img_1698img_2201img_2280img_2308img_2389img_2421IMG_2353img_2480img_2566img_2663img_2817img_3077img_3179img_3190img_3253img_3321img_0043img_0124img_0174img_0358img_0288img_0660img_0803img_8329img_8378img_8367img_1057img_8390img_8498img_1091img_1398img_1436img_1443img_1466img_1752img_1841img_1907img_1976img_1968

42 thoughts on “Year in Photos 2016

  1. readingteachsu

    I truly sorry there isn’t a LOVE button instead of like. Travelogue, photo composition lesson, and a fast lane to getting to know someone. Sorry, I’m stealing this idea right now. xxoo

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m glad you liked it…and even more happy that you’re going to make your own! 🙂 It’s a good way to walk down memory lane and keep a record of your best moments!

      Reply
  2. terierrol

    You’ve certainly had an exciting year! There were lots of different places shown along with family and friends (I guess). It looked like a happy year – hope it was. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. paulabourque

    You and I think the same way! Each of these images told a story. The story I ‘read’ and the one you shared may not have been the same, but it was meaningful and compelling and entertaining! I’ve been taking photos EVERY day for the past 20 years or so. Those memories will never fade!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I do live a pretty good story. 🙂 Thanks! The blue stairs is one of my faves, too. That one’s from Chefchaoen, Morocco. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  4. travelinma

    My blog started as a photo blog. What a great great idea. I am going to try it too! This might be a dumb question, but out of 100’s of photos how do you choose them? Do you choose your favorite ones each month? What is your process? Thanks so much for this.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Great question! I actually don’t categorize my photos by month, but by year. I scan through them, and choose the ones that make me smile. The ones that remind me of a happy time. I also make sure to include at least one photo from every place I’ve been that year. This past year, it was Hong Kong, Istanbul, Paris, Florence (twice), Brussels, Amsterdam, Alaska, New Orleans, Austin, and Albania (where I lived last year). Not much of a process unfortunately…just find the ones that make you smile. 🙂 Good luck!

      Reply
  5. elsie

    What a year! So much color in every photo! I perused the tags you listed just to get an idea of where some of these were taken. I’m guessing the baby is Marlowe, right?

    Reply
  6. Denise Krebs

    Wow! Those are incredible. You’ve had quite the adventures in 2016, and the photos are such a lovely quality as well.

    My favorite is the bluish one with the woman sitting with her back to the camera. She has a scarf and red on and other red accents around the corridor. It is so striking and beautiful.

    Thanks!
    Denise

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thank you Denise! I appreciate you stopping by. That one is one of my faves, too. It was taken in Chefchaoen, Morocco, a small city in the mountains of the Northeast that is blue-washed and full of little winding alleyways. I loved it there!

      Reply
  7. mlb1202

    Wow. These pictures are truly amazing. I love that you captured a year in your life and that it shows how much you are living it! Thank you for sharing your adventures with us!

    Reply
  8. isbergamanda

    It looks like you had a fantastic year! You have a great eye for photography. Many of these are making me want to go back to Europe. Maybe Morocco will need to happen too! I might steal your idea for a blog post one of these days too!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thank you! Morocco needs to happen!! I could see myself living there someday! I loved it! You take such great photos, too…you should totally do a post like this. I’d love to see what your year looked like. 🙂

      Reply
  9. Ramona

    Absolutely love this post. Love the pics from Paris, the lamps, the blue stairs (Morocco,I would have guessed Greece), and hot chocolate at Angelina’s (swoon!!!).

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Ramona! I take it you’ve been to Paris, too, if you know of the infamous Angelina’s hot chocolate. I can’t wait to go back! And yes, the blue in Chefchaoen, Morocco is akin to the blue in Santorini, but having been to both, I can say that Chefchaoen is much more blue!

      Reply
  10. bjdonaldson

    What a treat! I am so glad I stopped by to read your slice AND see your year in photos. You are a very talented photographer as well as writer. I like so many of them. The perspective on some of them are cool, like the Eiffel Tower photo. Thanks for the sharing.

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thank you so much! You are too kind. My favorite way to photograph is to find a different angle, one others might not use. It drives my friends crazy sometimes, but they are usually patient with me. 🙂

      Reply
  11. karpenglish

    I had not thought about using pictures in this way. You have some many beautiful shots, and so many that show people having fun and happy times. Utmost have been fun to look back and remember your fun times over the year. As someone who has not really ever travelled very much, I appreciated the armchair visit to so many different places!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thank you! I love trying to capture a different angle, one that doesn’t always seem obvious. I did have a good year of travel and time with friends and family. 🙂

      Reply
  12. Pingback: Can I just go back now? | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

I {heart} comments.

