Last Day

Today was the last day of school with students, but for some reason, it didn’t feel like a typical last day of school. It’s weird. Normally, the end of school has a buzz to it. There’s an excitement in the air that is palpable. I’m not quite sure why today didn’t feel like that to me. Maybe it was because while today was the last full day, students are returning to school for 2 hours on Friday for an assembly and to pick up their reports and portfolios. Maybe it’s because I was glued to the computer most of the day editing said reports. Maybe it’s because many of our students were absent, already on holiday and enjoying the beach. Maybe it’s because it’s a Tuesday. Usually last days are Fridays, which naturally bring excitement. Or maybe it was a combination of all of it. I guess it’s just hard to imagine being done this week. I want that feeling that normally accompanies the end of the year to make it feel done.

We have a lot to celebrate this year. We came together, this bunch of very talented educators, and formed a team. We learned how to collaborate with one another, and we created a school. There’s something really magical about that. Ten months ago, ACT was just a vision. We made it a reality, and we should be proud of that. We inspired students. We nurtured a school community. We developed curriculum and policies and reports and systems. We supported one another through the hard times, and we celebrated the good ones. We did it…together.

While this year was tough, as any first year of a brand new school probably is, I have my team to thank. They have worked so hard to create a real school that we can be proud of, and for that, I am grateful. So, even though today didn’t feel like the last day, it’s okay. Maybe it will on Friday.

3 thoughts on “Last Day

  1. Adrienne

    Today was my first day of vacation. It is also my last. We are interviewing for a new teammate tomorrow and I have a followup workshop on Thursday for some work we did in May. Both are work, but different from the usual daily stuff. And both have no kids in sight!

    Reply
  2. Becca Kesler

    I’m really new to blogging. I went on Two Writing Teachers and was looking into Slice of Life comments and saw yours. What struck me was not your comment (sorry) but I think we have the same last name. Outside of my family, I’ve only met 2 “one s” Keslers in my life. My brand new blog is everalearner.com, if you are interested.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

