Surrounded by PYP…and Loving It!

Holding dual roles at school means that sometimes I wear one hat more than the other. Lately my PYP Coordinator hat has been on more often, as our Exhibition has been fast-approaching (it’s TOMORROW!). Last week and this week, I have been surrounded by PYP– literally. I can’t seem to get away from it, but I sorta love it!

As I mentioned, our Exhibition presentations are tomorrow. Our Grade 5 students, teachers, and mentors have been working their little tails off getting ready for this momentous occasion for the past 6 weeks. Their collaborative, in-depth inquiry has lead them to some really interesting learning experiences and to take action in their local community. Here’s a video of their journey thus far. Today, I attended a field trip to our sister school, ACD, to attend their Exhibition, and then worked with the students on perfecting their presentations and display boards. I think know we are ready!


In addition to the Exhibition, we held a PYP training for all staff this past Saturday and Sunday. Unfortunately I was sick and could not attend all of the training, but the teachers did some amazing thinking and reflection while I was gone!

A documentary made about our school, and how we teach, was just released online today. It shows what it’s like attending and teaching at an international school in Albania, but also what it means to have an IB education. We are a candidate school for all 3 programmes of the IB- PYP, MYP, and DP!

Lastly, today during recess, I was drawn to a group of girls who were playing in the field. I watched them a short while and noticed they were gathering items and piling them up. I decided to investigate. After approaching the group (one in preschool, one in Grade 1, and two in Grade 2), I asked them what they were doing. They explained they were building a nest for the birds. When I questioned them further, they explained that people are cutting down trees, so birds no longer have homes, therefore they built a nest for the birds. They included leaves, flowers, dried twigs, berries, and a long stick. The berries were for food, of course, and the stick was so the bird could locate the nest and have something to sit on. The interesting thing is that they are all learning about Sharing the Planet at this time, although their Central Ideas vary. This group of girls decided, on their own during their free time, to take action to help animals who are losing their homes. If that’s not PYP, I don’t know what is!

It’s moments like this that remind me of why I do what I do and why I believe in it so much!

12 thoughts on “Surrounded by PYP…and Loving It!

  1. suzshaff

    Thanks for sharing this Jennifer! I love reading travel and teaching adventures! 5 more years until retirement from my current position and I’m seriously thinking about international schools for my twilight career! Good luck on the big day tomorrow!

    Reply
  2. elsie

    What a video of your school and teachings! Beautiful campus! I can see it is a lot of work, but so worth it when you see the results of students learning to be citizens of the world. You should be proud of all this hard work! Congratulations!

    Reply
  3. Iain Riley

    Hi my dear. The Exhibition looks awesome. Wish I was with you to watch it. Hello from Shanghai. Iain

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks so much Iain! My first Exhibition went really well…of course, we have done a ton of reflecting, and there are many things we will improve for next year, but overall, I was proud of the teachers and students! I’ll share the Exhibition video after I make it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and I hope all is well in Shangers!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: PYP Exhibition was a Huge Success! | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

I {heart} comments.

