Possessed

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

The weirdest thing happened to my phone today. This afternoon, I received a text message. After pulling my phone out of my pocket to see who it was, I unlocked my phone to reply. Suddenly, I knew something was wrong. The keyboard, all on its own, began typing random strings of letters. I tried to delete the text being written, but it was typing so fast, that in the time it took for me to delete a few letters, it had typed 10 more. After typing a nonsense message, my phone sent the text on its own. What was going on?!?

From there, I decided to power down the phone. Restarting my computer works when it’s being screwy, so I figured it would probably work on my phone. WRONG! After turning it back on, it began opening random apps, and clicking on things. At one point, my phone opened my inbox and began deleting emails, tried to order an Uber ride (we don’t even have Uber in Albania!), started calling some of my contacts, and even opened the Google map app and the blue GPS dot started moving, like I was walking somewhere across town. Holy crap! This is super frustrating and annoying! After not being able to close out any of my applications, I did a hard restart, which is apparently recommended by Apple if there’s an issue. Still didn’t work.

At this point, my colleague looked up “iPhone freaking out,” and apparently this is a thing with iPhone 6’s. We saw a YouTube clip of a phone acting like mine with the screen having a mind of its own. The comments said it was most likely a software issue, and to contact Apple for help. Of course, the only Apple retailer (not an official Apple store) in town has inconvenient hours for service, so they were closed by the time I got off work today. I am going to have to take time off work to go get it looked at unless it magically fixes itself tomorrow. I have never heard of this before, and am not super happy that it happened to me. Hopefully it gets sorted out soon! I realize that this isn’t the end of the world, by any means, but its definitely an inconvenience!

18 thoughts on “Possessed

  1. elsie

    How bizarre! I need to get a new phone, but now I’m wondering if I want a 6. Yikes! That’s crazy. Can you take out the battery? I’ve seen sales people do that sometimes. Good luck with this.

    Reply
  2. writintime

    Wow, I thought you were going to comment on how the maps app lets you know how long it will take you to get somewhere even though you didn’t ask. What you described would really freak me out! Glad to hear that it “can” happen though, just in case!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

