Putting Some Zen On It #sol16 29 of 31

I went to IKEA a few weeks ago, and ever since, I’ve been itching to put all my stuff away and organize my apartment. Since I’ve been out of the country the past three weekends, I simply haven’t had the time. Once I got home yesterday, I started on my room. Tonight I picked up where I left off, finishing up my room and the living room.

IMG_8041

IMG_8045

I was pretty happy with my place before, but now it’s got my stamp on it. I feel so zen and peaceful in my room now. For one thing, plants bring life and vibrancy into what was once dull and lifeless. I just love how a place can be spruced up simply by adding some green plants! Before the transformation, I had these heavy, ornate, large lamps on my bedside tables. The light they gave off was harsh and too bright. My new lamps give off a warm glow, and make it feel so much more of home-y. I’m big on lighting! I organized my drawers, throwing out a bunch of junk and putting everything in the right place. Now my bedside tables are no longer cluttered, and are able to hold some art and plants, and my writer’s notebook, of course. I love hanging out in here now!

IMG_8044

IMG_8042

IMG_8048

I made a few minor changes to the living room. I swapped the old floor lamp for softer lighting. The previous one flickered every time you turned it on, and was very distracting. I also added some new artwork and pictures that I had recently bought. Plants and candles complete the transformation, making it more like home.

IMG_8052

IMG_8049

IMG_8053

IMG_8054

I can’t wait to finish the rest of the house! I want to reorganize the bathroom with all of my cute new baskets and bins that I picked up. My kitchen is in serious need of some reorganization, too. I plan on clearing out all the unused dishes cluttering my cabinets, which will make it easier to find what I want. Lastly, I can’t wait to finish organizing my guest room, making it more colorful and inviting. This weekend should be the perfect time to get it all done. I am in town this weekend, and I’m so happy to stay put!

13 thoughts on “Putting Some Zen On It #sol16 29 of 31

  1. payanar100

    This looks so nice and comfortable. I love how freeing it is to take the time to organize, declutter and decorate.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

