Year 6, Day 1 #sol16 1 of 31

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I began participating in the Slice of Life Challenge back in 2011. Here it is 6 years later, and we’re at the beginning of yet another challenge. I look forward to the challenge each year, and this year is no different. Well, that’s not entirely true. I am looking forward to participating in the challenge, that’s for sure, but this year is different. While I definitely blog more heavily in March, I tend to blog throughout the year, writing slices of life, stories about living abroad and my travels across this globe, and musings about education. This year, for reasons I have yet to figure out, my writing life has been stagnant. I love writing, but the words haven’t come as easily as they have in the past. My energy for writing has waned.

But…I intend to use this challenge to reignite my passion for writing, to work out that muscle that has been dormant for so long. I am unprepared for the challenge in the traditional sense. Typically I have a list of topic ideas already scratched out in my writer’s notebook by day one. I hem and haw over which one to explore first. Nope, not this year. This year I’m winging it. I’m going to tackle each day as it comes. Maybe that’s just what I need–to add some spontaneity back into my writing!

For those of you who don’t know me, here’s a little bit of who I am.

I’m not afraid to speak in front of a large crowd of adults (or kids for that matter). It goes with the territory.

Traveling is my life. If I’m not on a trip, I’m planning the next one. I’ll have been to 12 countries (8 new) this school year by the time July rolls around.

I have a love affair with goat cheese. Like, for real. I can’t get enough of it.

I’m currently living on continent number four. Hopefully I can try my hand at Africa and South America someday.

My family is very important to me, despite living so far away. I love spending time with them when I go home for Christmases and summers.

I love hosting parties, cooking for others, and spending time laughing with and getting to know friends.

I invest in people, but I have a hard time balancing my time and energy between those who are near me and those far away. I have a tendency to devote more time to those who are near, but this doesn’t mean I love the ones far away any less. I love that my friends understand this about me.

I spend an inordinate amount of money on books, journals and writing utensils, and good food.

My five-year “veggie-versary” just happened last month. It’s hard to believe that the last time I ate a hamburger was over 5 years ago. Don’t miss it at all though!

My favorite thing to do when I visit a new place is to wander the streets, getting a feel for the local lifestyle, taking in the sounds and sights, and sampling the foods. Sure, I’ll hit up the touristy things, but what I remember most about my travels were the unplanned experiences that happened when I just walked around.

15 thoughts on “Year 6, Day 1 #sol16 1 of 31

  1. elsie

    I’ve been looking for you to post! I hope you will be writing about your new school and place this month. Your life makes me wish I’d been more adventurous when I was younger. Here’s to a great month of writing and getting your writing mojo back! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Mary Klepper

    Great post! I’m totally using this challenge to create a new habit! I’ve been lax on blogging as well. I am looking forward to hearing about your adventures this month!

    Reply
  3. Stacey Shubitz

    So nice to “see” you again, Jennifer. I’m delighted you’re back to breathe new life into your writing habits. That’s the best part of March, isn’t it?

    BTW: I have two recipes on our dinner menu this week with goat cheese. Seeing as they’re both vegetarian recipes, I figured I’d share them with you.
    http://www.myrecipes.com/m/recipe/quick-roasted-cherry-tomato-sauce-with-spaghetti
    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/19/health/nutrition/19recipehealth.html?_r=0
    (There’s more where these came from. Shoot me an email and lmk if you’d like me to send them along.)
    Enjoy!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Hi Stacey! I’m glad to be back and to see you again, too! Thanks for the recipes. I’ll definitely check them out. Thanks again for hosting this challenge year after year. You rock!

      Reply
  4. cmargocs

    Super-impressed by the scope of your travels; I would think that those alone would inspire a month’s worth of blogging! I love that you are putting yourself “out there” right at the beginning, listing personal qualities and quirks. Maybe try writing a post on each one of those statements, for starters!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

