Birthday Lunch- SOL #14

Even though her birthday isn’t until next weekend, the two of us celebrated today. Michelle has been with me since 2010 when I first moved to Shanghai. She and I are colleagues and friends, and I wanted to spend some quality time- just us- for her birthday. It’s Restaurant Week in Shanghai right now, so I booked us a table for lunch at Porcini, a restaurant in the Radisson Blu hotel in Pudong. After a starter of spicy bread, we enjoyed a lovely 3-course meal.

I had the carrot ginger soup with herb croutons and crab meat. Even though I’m not a big fan of ginger, the soup was really tasty! 🙂

For my main course, I had the Mackerel with a creamy caper sauce and spinach risotto. The fish was okay, but I was a little turned off by the skin and bones left in it. I picked at it a little bit. The risotto was nice though. My drink was a Fun Calypso, their take on a pina colada, sans rum.

For dessert, I had the New York cheesecake. It wasn’t too sweet, but it was creamy and tasty. The strawberries were a nice complement. After dessert, we had a nice conversation, catching up on what’s new in our lives. I’m not sure how much time I have left to spend with Michelle, but I’ll definitely miss her when we no longer live in the same place!

As we were leaving, we found this random thumb statue…kinda weird, but we (well, I) couldn’t resist a thumb selfie! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Birthday Lunch- SOL #14

  1. writekimwrite

    The restaurant and food look beautiful. It is what you didn’t give all the details of that are the star of the piece, though. That is celebrating a cherished friendship. That is some friend to pose with you in a giant thumb portrait! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Alan J Wright

    You have captured the moment and the food that accompanied it succinctly in your piece. Your use of photographs added an extra dimension to your sharing of the experience. The sharing of your experience with a friend over a special meal no doubt deepens the experience.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

