Getting Back to the Old Me- SOL #11

Anyone who knows me or has read some of my posts this month knows I’ve been having a hard time lately. Lots of things beyond my control have been very frustrating and have consumed my life for the past few weeks. I haven’t liked who I’ve been lately. I’ve been extremely sad, irritable, and angry, and my usual social self has retreated from my friends. I was letting the situation control me. I was forgetting the advice my dad has always told me, “You can only control what you do. You can’t control what anyone else does.” And he’s right, but dammit, sometimes I just want to control everything and make it turn out the way I want it to!

Beginning Monday, the fog has started to lift. Each day I find myself happier and more like me. I am smiling more, laughing more, and connecting more. I am looking forward to tomorrow, rather than dreading it. I am finding the joy in life again, both at work and in my social life. My OLW for this year is intentional. To be honest, I haven’t been living intentionally lately; I’ve been living in reaction to the people and situations surrounding me. But that’s all beginning to change. I’m starting to own my intentionality again. I know that there are still going to be bumps along the way, but I’m going to be more intentional with my choices, leading to a happier, healthier me!

IMG_4752_originalThank you to everyone who has supported me during this time! I’ve received loads of love from friends, family, and the TWT community of writers. You guys make my heart happy! 🙂 So as I begin the business of getting back to the old me, I am looking forward to the adventures and fun that lie ahead. I’m excited to be traveling with this lady (and Heather!) in just a few short weeks! Bring on the sun!

IMG_5263

 

11 thoughts on “Getting Back to the Old Me- SOL #11

  1. litcoachdanak

    I heart your reflections here…You have captured so well how “out of our skin” we feel when we aren’t ourselves. There is something so reassuring about finding ourselves again. Hope you are headed to a better place!
    -Dana

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Dana! It is reassuring…I thought that part of me was gone and was going to take a while to come back. The normalcy in life is definitely helping! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Kim K

    “I’ve been living in reaction to the people and situations surrounding me.” This is so spot on. Your whole post is speaking to me and my perspective of the world around me. Thank you for your words- they’re simmering in my mind right now.

    Reply
  3. isbergamanda

    As teachers we are so often in control of so many things that it is difficult to take a step back and just tell ourselves that we can’t control everything. I get stressed about this too, it is good knowing that I’m not the only one! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. Karen Terlecky

    I also have struggled in the past few months at getting my equilibrium and keeping my glass “half full.” I’m so glad to hear you feel as if you’ve rounded the corner and are on the road to being yourself again. On that road, remember to be kind to yourself on those tough days!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: A Slice About Not Slicing- SOL #16 | my heart is happiest when i travel. read. write. connect.

I {heart} comments.

