No Time to Breathe

I hate the word busy. It seems like everyone, including myself, is always so busy lately. Today was one of those days. Beginning at 8:30AM and continuing until 5:30PM when I left work, I was non-stop all day long. With back-to-back meetings, interviews, and assessments, I literally had 10 minutes to scarf down my lunch, and the only time I answered emails was during a lull in the conversation when I would take a few seconds to quickly scan and respond to an email. Even so, I left the day with 30 unopened emails, waiting until tonight when I could get home and answer a few. My day was frenzied and rushed and left no time for me to slow down, talk to teachers who needed me, chat with students like I normally do, or whittle away at the mountain of work I need to do.

My OLW this year is balance, but lately I’ve been so unbalanced I’m surprised I haven’t fallen over. I’m trying to get to everything…work, play, time for myself…but it’s hard. One thing that I love is writing, but now that March is over, I find myself struggling to slice even once per week. Now that the daily writing month is over, my days seem to fill with other “stuff.” My reading life has suffered lately, too. I was averaging 4-5 novels or professional texts a month, but now I’m down to 2-3. Exercise is another thing that’s a struggle for me. I need to make the time, but things are always creeping in, taking my time away from what I need to do. And then there’s sleep. Earlier this year, I was in bed at a reasonable hour and waking up feeling refreshed and ready to tackle the day. Now, I’m staying up later and later, fighting getting up in the morning, and yawning all day. Something’s gotta give, but what?

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hJoin the Slice of Life Writing Community at Two Writing Teachers! You’ll be glad you did!

10 thoughts on “No Time to Breathe

  1. shaggerspicchu

    I love that you can sit down and write such a reflective piece of writing so quickly and so well. You will find that balance it is only April after all!

    Reply
  2. elsie

    I feel for you and that spinning wheel you are on. Time to take stock and prioritize. What is most important? You are living the life of “the hurrier I go the behinder I get.”

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I feel ya…trying to prioritize, but everything seems too important to drop. I’ll keep looking at my list. Something is bound to be less important.

      Reply
  3. LauraM.

    Good post! I can definitely relate (and I’m sure many other slicers could, too). My husband and I have been having a lot of talks about “balance” lately. It’s so important…and yet, so incredibly hard! I have a hard time saying “no” to things when I can somehow find a way to cram them into my schedule. Unfortunately, when I fit in so much, I find that I can’t do my best at any of them. I’m trying, like you, to figure out how to balance all of the plates I have spinning. Good luck!!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I’m also guilty of never saying “no” and it’s really catching up with me! I will fill my schedule to the last second, leaving no time for me. I need to start scheduling work time for myself. Thanks!

      Reply
  4. readingtothecore

    I have been caught up in the same kind of whirlwind for the past couple of weeks and completely understand your frustration. Prioritizing is the only way to accomplish anything, even if it means not getting to everything today. Maybe things will balance out over a longer period of time. That’s what I’m hoping for!

    Reply
  5. Clare and Tammy

    Taking the time always helps me be more productive in the end. Some times when I get so “busy” I actually am not as effective. Balance is very important — seems like you need to find it again. Go for it!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

