Chasing the Sun

Did you know that April is National Poetry Month? In honor of this, I would like to share a little poem I wrote on my flight from Hong Kong to Kathmandu this weekend. I was mesmerized by the images outside of my window, so much so that I was inspired to write a poem. Enjoy! 🙂

IMG_5467

IMG_5472

IMG_5476

Chasing the Sun

An ocean of gray clouds
form a never-ending horizon
Puffy white clouds in the distance
play the part of mountains
Fiery orange contrasts against the ocean,
fading into tangerine, butter, lemon
A touch of cotton
just before
the field of forget-me-nots
reaches high,
darker and darker,
until it finally settles into night
Flying into the sunset
trying to
catch it
touch it
before it fades away
A race against time
A race we can’t win

I {heart} comments.

