Looking Back on the Slice of Life Challenge- SOL #31

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

2014 marks the fourth year that I have participated in the Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers and, except for the first year, I have written a post all 31 days in March. I tend to follow a typical trajectory. I start off strong, full of gusto and enthusiasm, get stuck in the middle with “Why am I doing this? I don’t have time. No one wants to read what I have to say! What is it that I want to say anyway?”, and then limp across the finish line, weary and a little worse for wear, glad that my month of blogging is done. Ready to put it on the shelf for the next 11 months. But this year was different. This year was better.

This year, I started out strong, and I finished strong. There wasn’t a day when I wrote about writer’s block, as I had done every other year. I lived my life with eyes wide-open, ready to mentally capture the potential slices that filled my days, so that I had something to write about that evening. Somedays I had so many great slices to choose from, that it was hard to pick just one. This year, my slices centered around a few themes. Travel, my back pain issues, memories from my childhood, reflection, and of course, living abroad in a culture very different from home. This year, I learned that I can write 1000 words in no time at all. My writing has taken on a more natural feel, flowing out of me as fast as the thoughts enter my head.

This year, I realized that what motivates me as a writer is writing for an audience. Knowing that someone out there is reading my words–making a connection, learning something new, feeling a certain way–makes all the difference. Comments are food for the soul. They’re like little nuggets of encouragement, spurring me on to write each day, letting me know that what I say matters.

This year, I spread the slicing love to some of my friends. Shaggers joined me on the challenge last year, but this was her first 31-day slicing month. Congrats by the way Shags! We were each other’s biggest cheerleaders and encouragers. Daily text check-ins to nudge one another to write, revision emails swapped with “I can’t figure out this line…can you help?”, “How can I get my verb tense to match up?”, and “Ugh, poetry is so tough…please work your magic!”, and comment after comment, making connections and giving feedback. In addition to Shags, a couple of my other friends joined me for their inaugural year on the challenge. Kudos to you Jen, Heather, and Brittany! I’m proud of you! 😉 I even had one of my Kindergarten teachers write me an email saying that I’d inspired him to write with my slicing. He sent me a lovely poem he’d written as an homage to our school. Igniting that writing spark in others gives me warm fuzzies!

This year, I can’t believe how quickly the month has flown by! While some things didn’t get done as I committed to the task of writing daily and commenting on other slicers, I am proud of my decision to write daily, no matter what. Writing daily has become a habit, one that I hope to continue as we move into April. Every year I say I will slice on Tuesdays, but after about 2 Tuesdays, life creeps back in and I get “too busy” to do it. Not this year. Shaggers and I are committed. We are becoming year-round slicers. Let’s do this!

Thank you for taking the time to read my slices and share your thoughts. It truly means the world to me! Until next time…zai jian!

18 thoughts on “Looking Back on the Slice of Life Challenge- SOL #31

  1. jaclynfre

    It’s been great to correspond via the challenge. You sound like an inspiration to your colleagues. I’m hoping to share the challenge with some colleagues as well–thanks for the leadership by example. It has been quite a month of inspiration this year. Responding to your posts and your comments have been an encouragement. All the best!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks so much! I feel the same way about you. You and I have really connected through our slices during the challenge this year. Looking forward to reading more of your blog as you move into another adventure. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jaana

    I always enjoyed reading your posts (like have done the previous two years). I hope you will keep writing on Tuesdays! Right now I am making a mental note to check your blog to find out more about the trip to Nepal (after the pit stop).

    Reply
  3. elsie

    Congrats on finishing strong and committing to writing weekly! I love reading the life of an adventurous soul. Even the most mundane item can be turned into a bit of writing. Someone will enjoy it, so keep noticing and writing. I will keep reading. 🙂

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks so much Elsie! You are always the best encourager! Did you know you’re my top commenter? 🙂 I always love to read what you’ve written, too. I’ll keep reading your posts as well.

      Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Thanks Stacey, and thank you for hosting this forum where writers can come together, share our words, and be comforted and encouraged by this loving community!

      Reply
  4. tsudmeier

    Congratulations on finishing the challenge. I enjoyed reading your slices this month. I learned more about China! I also did not make it last year after the March challenge and have a goal to continue! Hope to see you on Tuesdays!

    Reply
  5. Susan Maclay

    I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog periodically this month and I’m glad that you’ll be back on Tuesdays. This was my first year slicing and I think I will also continue slicing on Tuesdays. This post of yours is inspirational because it confirms that daily writing becomes easier with practice and commitment. Hooray!

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      Susan, thank you. I’m so glad you joined the challenge. You have a knack for writing! Keep going! And yes, it becomes so much easier with continued practice. 🙂

      Reply

I {heart} comments.

