Secrets- SOL #13

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

The idea of secrets has always intrigued me. Why we keep secrets. Who we tell them to. Who we don’t tell them to. The secrets we keep from our family, our friends, ourselves. The idea that it’s easier to tell a secret to a complete stranger than your closest friend. How we feel inclined to share secrets, even those that aren’t ours to share. Which secrets to keep. Which ones to let slip.

There’s a site I follow, Post Secret, which posts anonymous secrets each Sunday. Some make me laugh, some make me cringe, and others make me cry. Some secrets are a cry for help, a longing for someone, anyone, to listen. I wonder if the people sending in their secrets have someone they can talk to. Do they have someone who will listen to them and care what they have to say? I truly hope so.

When you get down to it, secrets are essentially those things or ideas you want to hide from someone else. Sometimes they’re big secrets, other times, insignificant. But nevertheless, they are important to the secret teller.
It got me thinking. What are the types of things people hide?
~what we really want
~our vices
~our messes
~what goes on inside our minds
~our weaknesses
~our fat
~money/our spending habits
~our Internet habits/history
~our insecurities and fears
~our true selves

What do you hide?

6 thoughts on “Secrets- SOL #13

  1. elsie

    If I told you it wouldn’t be a secret. 🙂 I really can’t think of secrets I keep other than when I buy an new book (from my husband, he thinks I have too many. I say that’s not possible.)

    Reply
  2. jaclynfre

    Secrets I usually keep usually involve social gatherings when I’m talking to someone who has not been invited. It makes me feel awkward and disingenuous. But that’s a very uncomfortable situation to be in . . . What do you think?

    Reply
  3. jee young

    Woah, that website is so intriguing…I’ve never heard of it before! It is interesting how people are willing to share their secrets anonymously to the world. I’m not sure if I could do that…

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      I know, right?!? I love checking it out every Sunday. That’s when they post new ones. I’m kind of sad that they don’t keep the past ones up, but then again, I’d end up spending WAY too much time looking at them if they did! I think I could totally share a secret that way, at least much easier than to someone who knew me.

      Reply

I {heart} comments.

