An ABC Book About Me!- SOL #12

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

The other morning I woke up with an idea for a slice. It was one of those fleeting moments that occur just upon waking. Those ideas that, if not written down, float out of our heads, never to return. I’ve been working on this slice in my writer’s notebook for a few days- an ABC book about me!

A is for Australia
I have been obsessed, and I mean obsessed, with Australia since age 7. I love everything about this unique, beautiful country! From ANZAC biscuits and pavlova to the Great Barrier Reef and the Sydney Opera House. I even moved there right out of college. If I could live anywhere, that would be it!

B is for Brunch
Who doesn’t love a lazy weekend brunch? Living abroad has made me a ‘brunch-er.’ I long to go to a fancy (or not so fancy, depending on my mood) restaurant with friends, savoring the delicious food and conversation that swirls around me.

C is for Cook
I love to cook! Especially for other people. My specialties include cakes, appetizers, and making vegetarian food taste good!

D is for Dr. Pepper
As a Texan, I grew up with Dr. Pepper. It was in my veins, and for a long time, the addiction to the perfect combination of flavors held a firm grasp on me. I still enjoy Dr. Pepper, but I’m trying to cut back. It’s not easy.

E is for Education
Education is, and has always been, very important to me. Growing up, I loved school. I did well academically, and I longed to be a teacher. I’m in my tenth year of education, during which time I’ve been a teacher, literacy coach, and administrator.

F is for Firsts
I just love firsts. First time jumping out of an airplane. First kiss. First scuba dive. First day in a new country. First bite. Firsts bring excitement and energy, and I relish these moments.

G is for Goat Cheese
First of all, have you tried goat cheese? If you haven’t, you should go out right now and buy some. Seriously. Do it. I’ll wait. Goat cheese is one of my obsessions. Honestly, it’s one I thought would be a fad, like my obsession with Element Fresh, but it’s stuck around and I couldn’t be happier. Goat cheese is amazing on a sandwich, salad, or pizza. Spread it on some toasted bread and drizzle it with honey. Yes, please!

H is for Honest
I’ve been told I’m honest, whether you like it or not. Not sure yet if this is a good thing. Guess it depends on who you are. 🙂

I is for Ideas
I’m full of ideas. Some good, some not so good. I love to come up with new things and ways to do something better. As a general rule, I’m good at following through with my ideas, but sometimes I have a good idea that is discarded because I’m too busy or lazy to go through with making it happen.

J is for Jennifer
A little obvious, right? ‘J words’ are just so hard…

K is for Kesler
Another obvious one, I know, but this isn’t just my last name. It’s also the name I identify with most. A lot of my friends call me some variation of this name. Kesler. Kes. Kes-Kes. I like it. It’s unique. It’s who I am. 🙂

L is for Leader
I’ve always been a leader, taking charge of things for as long as I can remember. As a child, I was called bossy. I think that was just my inner leader trying to bust out. Throughout my life, I’ve held many leadership positions. Most recently, I moved into an administrative position at my school. While it isn’t always easy, I enjoy the challenges it brings.

M is for Memory-Keeper
Memories are important. They are the things that last. You can buy something, but it can be broken, lost, forgotten. Memories are there. Forever. I love to keep memories alive through my writer’s notebook, oral storytelling, blogging, and photography.

N is for Neon
Neon is so much fun! Fluorescent yellow, green, orange, and pink adorn my closet. Wearing a little (or a lot!) neon is my way to show the world that I’m bright, fun, and energetic!

O is for Organized
Organization makes me happy. Everything neatly in it’s place makes it easier to find things and it’s aesthetically pleasing. Give me some cutesy bins and organizational tools, and I’m one happy girl. 🙂

P is for Picky
I like things the way I like them. When I order something at a restaurant and it’s not exactly like I want it, I’ll make a request to change it. I have a special way I like things arranged in my bathroom. When ayi moves things, I move them back.

Q is for Quote Collector
My writer’s notebooks and Pinterest boards are filled with quotes- inspirational ones, funny ones, writerly ones, uplifting ones, sad ones. Words are luscious, and I simply have to write down quotes that move me.

R is for Reader
Reading has always been one of my biggest passions. Ever since I learned to read, I have collected books, carrying them with me always. Reading lets you into another world, taking you on an exciting ride. It teaches you something. It opens your eyes and gives you perspective. Reading makes me happy.

S is for Sweet Tea
A product of the South, sweet tea is my comfort drink. Bringing back memories of sitting on the front porch swing at Mamaw’s house and many (too many!) trips to Chick-fil-A. A good glass of sweet tea will cure anything that ails you!

T is for Traveler
Traveling is my life. If I’m not traveling, planning my next trip, or reflecting on a recent trip, I’m sad. I think I was born with a traveler’s spirit. I’ve never been content to just stay in the same place and do the same thing day after day. I get such a rush from encountering a new culture. The sights, smells, tastes, people, sounds, and experiences I encounter when traveling have made me a different person.

U is for Unique Glasses
I love glasses. No, like, really love them. I have over 15 pair of different glasses in all manner of colors and shapes. Glasses allow me to express who I am- a little bit nerdy, a little bit sexy. I also enjoy matching them to my outfits. Glasses markets make me smile, and I can’t ever leave without a few new pair.

V is for Vegetarian
I’ve been a vegetarian for 3 years now. I didn’t do it intentionally. It wasn’t for the animals (although it kind of is now). It wasn’t for health reasons. It was more of a dare that just stuck. At first it was hard, but now I can’t imagine going back to meat.

W is for Writer
Duh! Of course W is for writer. If you’ve made it this far, you know I like to write. Collecting words is one of my favorite things. I hope that my words impact others someday.
**W was really hard to choose. Tied for second place were witty and wig phobia. Seriously, wigs are scary!

X is for eXpensive tastes
Yeah, yeah, I know…I cheated, but with a letter like ‘X,’ I don’t have many options. I like fancy things. I like nice clothes, decadent food, traveling in style. I can’t help that these things are expensive!

Y is for Young
I’m young, relatively speaking. To the students at my school, I’m ancient, but as a 32 year old, I’m in my prime. I love living, and I love that my youth affords me loads of opportunities.

Z is for Zaijian
For those of you who don’t speak Mandarin, zaijian means goodbye. Now before you go getting all jealous that I can speak Mandarin, I’ll let you in on a little secret. I only really know conversational Mandarin, which is actually quite pathetic when you think about it. Having lived in Shanghai for nearly 4 years, I really should know more. I’ll work on that. 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “An ABC Book About Me!- SOL #12

  1. elsie

    You just verified things I’ve inferred through your writing. Z could also be for the zest you have for life. I am in awe of those who chase after their dreams at a young age.

    Reply
  2. daddiseducator

    Love this ABC about you. What a creative endeavor. I started an ABC book collection awhile back and they are some of my favorites. Reading, writing, traveling make us better educators, that’s for sure!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

