Springtime- SOL #6

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

As I sit here, bundled up, wishing the cold would finally, finally go away, I find myself searching for a slice. My brain is tired after my day today, so I reach for my notebooks, hoping for some inspiration. In my poetry notebook, I find a poem I wrote last spring, one I have yet to publish. This will have to do for today.

Springtime

As I sit beneath
the sprawling branches,
I am provided with shade–
but not completely.
The sun peeks through
the bright green leaves,
and as I look up,
my eyes squint,
not used to
so much light,
still used to winter’s
gray, gloomy skies.
I welcome the squinting,
for the brightness of the sun
means spring has finally come.
Looking around me,
I notice a tangle of limbs,
fighting one another for space
as they reach for the sun;
the once manicured flower bed,
where weeds have taken over,
taking root wherever they can,
not worrying whether or not
they were invited;
the freshly-planted flowers
of gold, pink, and purple
soak up the buttery warmth
of the sun’s rays.
Though I can’t see them,
birds sing songs of spring.
Windows,
wide open,
let in the perfection
of today,
of spring.

6 thoughts on “Springtime- SOL #6

  1. AJF (@Anitaferreri)

    In reading just a few posts this morning, I note a connection with warmth, spring, and hope. I think it is that kind of day! PS YOUR POEM IS LOVELY – love the line about the buttery warmth of the sun’s rays – I can hardly remember how that feels this cold winter – but your words nudge me towards that feeling!

    Reply
  2. Tara Smith

    So many lines to love in this – but especially these, which brighten my spirits on a dreary winter’s day:
    the freshly-planted flowers
    of gold, pink, and purple
    soak up the buttery warmth
    of the sun’s rays.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

