Laughter Does a Body Good- SOL #1

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

It’s been dreary the past month (or longer…) in Shanghai. Winter’s brought cold temperatures, cloud (and smog) cover, little to no sunlight, and lots of rain. To say that it’s affected all of our moods would be an understatement. My normally cheery self has been a bit on the grumpy side lately, in desperate need of some Vitamin D and a few less layers.

To combat the dreariness, I invited some friends over for some food and fun tonight. After feasting on dips, chips, taco soup, and some sweet treats, we played Cards Against Humanity. If you haven’t played yet, imagine an adult version of Apples to Apples. A “judge” reads a black card aloud, and all other players play a white card that goes with the black card. The judge reads aloud all the white cards and chooses a winner, who then keeps the black card. The one with the most black cards at the end is the winner. **Cards Against Humanity is not for the easily offended.

IMG_5152

When playing, it’s helpful to know your audience. Playing to the judge’s personality will definitely win you some points. Amy, whose laugh is the contagious kind where even if you don’t think something’s funny you laugh anyway, loves to choose the most off-the-wall, wacky cards. Things like “A super soaker full of pee” is guaranteed to be chosen on her turn. Michelle, the only Jewish girl in the group, got all the Jewish-related cards (i.e. “Poorly-timed Holocaust jokes”), regardless of if they made sense. What’s funny is that she never picked them, yet we kept playing them on her turn. Heidi, who dominated tonight’s game, loves inside jokes. Playing her a card that has anything to do with something we’ve joked around about before is likely to earn you a win for that round. Melissa M., with her sexy voice, cracked us up whenever she read the cards aloud. Due to her sexy voice, she wound up getting all the sexual reference cards. We loved hearing her choices because they were always so hilarious (and raunchy!). Nirada, the literal one, carefully mulls over her options, and chooses the one that makes the most sense. Melissa B. loves funny cards. Make her laugh, or better yet, cry from laughing so hard, and she’s bound to choose your card! Now for me. Everyone always plays their “nerdy” cards for me as a way to poke fun at me for my attention to detail (ahem…Helvetica) at work. I always choose the card that strikes me as sarcastic or catches my attention first. I rarely take too long to decide.

IMG_5159

Tonight’s game night was just what everyone needed. Laughter filled the room, complete with knee slapping and tears from laughing so hard. Whenever I’m feeling down, I try to surround myself with good friends. Fun and laughs are sure to follow.

8 thoughts on “Laughter Does a Body Good- SOL #1

  1. luckygurl

    I’m so glad you posted this! I keep seeing references to this game and had no idea what people were talking about. :p It was fun to hear about how different people get “played”. When we play apples to apples in my family, my mother-in-law picks ANY card that has to do with Broadway or theater…

    Reply
    1. aggiekesler Post author

      People tend to follow patterns when playing games like this. I’m sure a psychologist would have a field day watching people play this game. 🙂

      Reply
  2. elsie

    My nephew introduced us to this game over Christmas. We had some good laughs. I think it opened my son’s eyes that his parents weren’t quite as stodgy as he thought.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

