Cairo- SOL #30

SOLS button 2013

Today begins my Spring Break, but more importantly, my trip to Cairo, Egypt! I can’t tell you how excited I am about this trip! I’ve always wanted to see the pyramids, so when the opportunity to see this amazing wonder came about, I bought my ticket straight away. Well, the time has finally arrived. Today’s slice is a list of all the things I’m looking forward to on this trip.

  • Standing in awe of the pyramids, particularly the Great Sphinx of Giza.
  • Riding a camel…I know, I know, so cliche, but hey, I’m only in Egypt once, right?
  • Shopping at the old bazaars and street markets. I’m really looking forward to finding a piece of Egyptian art and some beautiful tapestries to bring back home.
  • Taking a boat trip down the Nile.
  • Going horseback riding at sunset near the pyramids. Is this really my life?
  • Visiting the Museum of Egyptian Antiquities to see the mummies and catch a glimpse of King Tut and his artifacts.
  • Marveling at the world’s largest temple (over 70 acres!), the Temple of Karnack in Luxor, the ancient Egyptian city of Thebes.
  • Traveling to Aswan on the overnight sleeper train (a first!) and taking a felucca ride around the surrounding islands.
  • Exploring the Valley of the Kings, located on the West bank of the Nile and known to contain 63 tombs and chambers, as well as the Valley of the Queens, a similar place except for housing the wives of pharaohs.
  • Trying some typical Egyptian food. I’m not sure what to expect, but I’m looking forward to tasting new dishes!
  • Being in the sun! The winter has lingered a little too long in Shanghai, and I’m looking forward to feeling the warmth of the sun on my skin and not having to wear my heavy coat. Oh, and a tan would be nice, too!
  • The two 10+ hour plane rides. This past month has been so busy that I’m looking forward to many uninterrupted hours of reading!
  • Lastly, I’m looking forward to making new memories and writing in my writer’s notebook.
6 thoughts on “Cairo- SOL #30

  1. jaclynfre

    Everyone says to put Egypt on your list. While at home (US) I barely went to Chicago for the weekend (I’m from Michigan). So coming back from Cambodia, I love to hear stories of other teachers’ trips as a sense of possibilities is a given while in Asia. Can’t wait to hear which of these items on your list was your favorite!!

    Reply
  2. elsie

    What a spring break! I’ve always wanted to see the pyramids, so you are living my dream. Have a great time, take lots of pictures, and share your adventure. I will be waiting to live vicariously.

    Reply
  3. Tara

    Lucky you! My daughter was there last summer, studying Arabic. All the things on your list brought her great joy…but, be careful! Especially if you are traveling alone. There is a misogynistic aspect to a good number of Egyptian men, and women are harassed (my daughter was, all through her summer stay). That being said, she met many wonderful, generous Egyptian people, and enjoyed her stay. Bon voyage!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

