Rainy Days- SOL #24

SOLS button 2013

What is it about the rain that makes me so sleepy? So lazy? The gray, gloomy skies coupled with the soft sound of the rain just outside my window lulls me into a trance. I want to be productive, to get all the things done that I’ve been putting off, but something about the rain makes me want to stay in my pajamas, read a book, order in, and watch a movie. I can’t be the only one that feels this way, right? I’ll try my hand at some poetry. That’s productive-ish.

Rain

gray-blue skies
no sun in sight
damp, dark, dreary
then I hear
sprinkles against my window
the soft pitter patter
forming background noise
begging me to stay indoors
where it’s warm and dry
I can always go out tomorrow

5 thoughts on “Rainy Days- SOL #24

  1. elsie

    When the weather makes you uncomfortable, you want to stay in the cocoon of your home. I dread having to leave home when there is weather (rain or snow). Rainy days slow life down a little. Sometimes that’s just what we need. You poem reminds us of the comforts of home.

    Reply
  2. jilltsouks

    I’m going to share this with my class! We just read a book called Snow by Cynthia Rylant and then we tried writing about rain. We talked a lot about what rain sounds like and looks like and how it makes us feel. We talked about what we feel like doing when it rains. Most of us said sleep or curl up under a blanket and watch a movie. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

