S-T-U-C-K- SOL #19

SOLS button 2013

 

I’m stuck. S-T-U-C-K. Stuck. I’ve been sitting here for over an hour trying to find inspiration for a slice of life. Just a little something that would spark an idea. What I ended up with was nothing. A blank slate. An empty mind.

I know we’ve all been there. That place commonly known as writer’s block. What I normally do when this happens is mine my writer’s notebook for ideas. I’ve done that. Trust me. I’ve looked back at my heart map, perused my neighborhood map, reread my lists, and tried to find inspiration in the quotes scribbled on the pages of my writer’s notebook. But writing a ‘slice of life’ is what’s tripping me up today. I want to find something in my notebook that reminds me of something that happened today. I want my slice to connect to today. The problem with that is that nothing out of the ordinary happened. Nothing happened that I could write a whole entire slice about.

Maybe I’m putting too mush pressure on myself to write this amazing slice. Yeah, that’s probably it. I tend to do that– put too much pressure on myself to get things just right. Writing is a process, right? And part of the process is not knowing exactly what to write. So today, I’m deciding to live in that moment of uncertainty. That imperfect moment. And today, that’s OK.

3 thoughts on “S-T-U-C-K- SOL #19

  1. shaggerspicchu

    I am glad to see you have those moments too! In my world, you are the writer guru. I appreciate you sharing your challenges with us to make us soon to be confident writers know that it’s okay to be stuck sometimes!

    Reply
  2. jhaworthoy

    Yes, we have all been stuck…and it is good that you acknowledge it and accept it…well at least now you do…don’t pressure yourself as that just stops all of the creative thoughts. I find when I am stuck…if I have time…I read and comment on as many posts as I can…and I have been inspired by many and piggybacked off a few. Take a deep breath and relax. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

