Choose to be happy- SOL #11

SOLS button 2013

As I was perusing Pinterest tonight, I came across this quote which sums up what I’ve been thinking lately in regard to both my personal and professional life.

78afe3a5d8cd311ba88030f6cd4293d7

There are things in life that piss us off. There are people in life who annoy us, are mean, and frustrate us to no end. There are things in life that we cannot control. We could choose to let those things fester inside of us, make us angry, and rob us of our joy. Or we can choose to be happy. The people and circumstances that annoy us aren’t just going to magically disappear. We have to come to realize that no one can make us feel a certain way. Sure, people can influence how we feel, but ultimately, we are responsible for ourselves, our feelings, and our actions.

For a while, I played the role of the victim. I was so unhappy because people did this or that to me, something didn’t work out for me, or everything went wrong because I live in China where things aren’t always easy. Blah, blah, blah. I had an excuse for everything. I chose to let the things and people around me dictate how I felt. Essentially, I chose to be unhappy.ย Well, not anymore. I’ve since made the conscious decision to be happy. It isn’t always easy, and there are certainly days when I can get hoppin’ mad, but I’m in control of my emotions now. Where I used to wallow in self-pity, blaming everyone else, complaining to anyone who would listen, now I take a step back, ask myself if this scenario is worth feeling like crap (It never is, is it?), and then simply decide to be happy.

And just like Voltaire’s quote says, “I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health.” Being happier has led to a healthier me. Instead of sitting on the couch being lazy because I wasn’t motivated to do anything, I am now busy, which has led to a more active and social lifestyle. My emotional health has improved tenfold since I’ve adopted this new philosophy. I’m happier and able to share more with others, and I’ve become a better friend, teacher, daughter, literacy coach, and listener.

I don’t dare go back to the old me. The new me sees the world in a different way. The new me smiles and laughs a lot more. The new me is more productive and takes pride in what she does. The new me doesn’t dwell on the negative. The new me sees the promise of a new day. The new me sends love out. The new me is happier. Because I’ve chosen to be.

14 thoughts on “Choose to be happy- SOL #11

  1. jee young

    Great quote! I try to choose to be happy as well~! I think a positive outlook instead of a complaining attitude can have such a powerful impact on your life.

    Reply
  2. C. Crouch

    Congrats on seeing the potential of your own power and acting on it! Isn’t it amazing what is possible all because of a chioce/mind shift? We don’t have control over anything but ourselves. Joel Olsteen says that too, “Don’t let them steal your joy.” ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a joyfully day!

    Reply
  3. Tara

    Thank you! This is always a great reminder, and something I know I can never hear too often. So far today I have been able to choose to keep my cool- I hope I can keep it up. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great day!

    Reply
  4. Laura Komos

    Thanks so much for the important reminder! I always feel so much better when I choose happiness. I’ll have to bookmark your post for when I need another refresher! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. jhaworthoy

    So nice!!! I think we all should have that quote hanging someplace where we will see it every day. I think it becomes a habit after a while. I have had friends say to me…’you always find something positive in any situation.’ I had no idea I did that until I began hearing it more…and then I realized that I was following just what your post is all about. Of course, I fall often…but do my best to think good thoughts. Thanks SO MUCH for this post! Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  6. Robin

    Choose to be happy…It’s a good mantra and good advice for all. I enjoyed your slice today. It was positive and a great reminder for all. It is healthy to be happy!

    Reply
  7. Ramona

    Such a positive slice! I love the closing paragraph where you sum up all the great things about the new me . . . all because you’ve chosen to be happy.

    Reply
  8. shaggerspicchu

    This post makes me so happy inside! You are an amazing person inside and out and deserve that feeling of constant happiness. I am so proud of you for making those changes in your thinking, it is a difficult thing to do but it is worth it, right? I love your smile, I happy you are sharing it more often than before ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

