Procrastination- SOL #3

SOLS button 2013

Procrastination

Procrastination isn’t early,
it’s last minute at best.
It avoids,
finding anything
and everything
else to do,
instead of the task at hand.
It won’t earn you brownie points,
put your mind at ease,
or show the world you’re prepared.
It is lazy.
It is selfish.
It feels rushed.
It can give you anxiety
and make you pull out your hair.
It is frantic
as the deadline approaches.
Procrastination doesn’t
get you out of your work,
it just prolongs
the inevitable.

Why, oh why, do I procrastinate? I have a mountain of work staring me in the face, taunting me, daring me to begin. I know what I need to do. I’m capable of the work. In fact, I want to do it. I want to feel the sense of accomplishment. I want to feel the weight lifted. So why do I avoid it? Is it because I need my downtime? Is it because I’m lazy? Is it because I enjoy the pressure and somehow get a kick out of always managing to ‘get it all done’ just in the knick of time? I’m not quite sure. One thing I know for sure is…I can’t procrastinate any longer. Monday morning will be here soon and I have work to do!

***The poem above is a format I learned from Michael Salinger and Sara Holbrook at “The Art of Teaching Literacy” workshop in Hong Kong last weekend. It’s called a definition poem, and it can be used in all subject areas to have students really gain an understanding of a word. They gave us a graphic organizer template to plan out the poem. First, you brainstorm everything the word is, does, would, can, look like and everything the word isn’t, doesn’t, wouldn’t, can’t, doesn’t look like. Then you can use those phrases to shape your poem. This is my first attempt at a definition poem. While it’s not my best work, I love the idea and plan to use it again. I think it would be especially useful for those abstract vocabulary words that you can’t quite put your finger on such as hope, love, freedom, equality, and doubt.

IMG_0249

A picture of the template Michael and Sara showed us.

7 thoughts on “Procrastination- SOL #3

  1. shaggerspicchu

    I love this definition poem. Procrastination the word of the weekend for me as well. I am going to try to use your post as motivation to get started. Actually, I should probably have a shower first and then maybe make some dinner and after that I might call my Nanny and then I think I will most likely feel sleepy. Maybe I will do my work Monday evening?

    Reply
  2. Jaana

    Great idea. I had not heard of this before. Writing a note to myself–use a definition poem in class and as a blog post later this month! Thanks for sharing a great idea!

    Reply
  3. readingtothecore

    We read to know we’re not alone, right? I thought of myself trying to finish any number of projects as I read your poem. I love the format and the process. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. elle1955

    I am pushing myself to try new forms, tenses, points of view. It is nice to see others doing the same. You have found success in this form. I am inspired to try it. Thanks.

    Reply
  5. the other ruth

    So glad you shared the process/pattern with us. I love thinking about different possibilities for poetic forms, and this one is fun.
    I also have to say that your thoughts on procrastination are hitting close to the bone for me tonight…. 🙂 Glad I’m not alone!

    Reply

I {heart} comments.

