Miles- SOL

IMG_1340

Don’t you just love toddlers? Their natural curiosity and enthusiasm about the world around them astounds me. When did we lose that? When did things suddenly become less awe-inspiring? When did that need to find out “everything about everything” dwindle down to just finding out “something about something”? I’m not sure when, but I want to capture that feeling again. I want to wake up everyday filled with enthusiasm, happiness, and wonder. I want to live in the moment and follow my desires. I want to live like a toddler again!

Miles, the adorable toddler in the photo, is the epitome of cuteness! Don’t you just wish you could pick him up and snuggle him? 😉 Miles belongs to my friends Bill and Carissa, and he is my favorite little guy around! Whenever I see Miles, I light up and turn into one of those babbling, googley-eyed people who suddenly revert to baby talk when a baby is within 50 feet of them. I’m sure I look ridiculous, but I really can’t help myself.

My favorite thing is when Miles sees me and runs over to give me a hug and a kiss. I just melt! It’s so bad…he knows he’s got me wrapped around his little finger. He knows that all he has to do it give me that sweet little smile of his or bat his eyelashes, and I’m going to give into whatever he wants. When he says, “I lub you,” it’s all over! Oh, you want a cookie? Here, have three! 😉

Miles is incredibly smart, too. And I’m not just saying that. Really. His understanding, recognition, and vocabulary are through the roof! I can’t believe just how fast he picks things up! He is curious about everything right now. I love how he will point to new things, ask questions, and “read” books. His two favorite things to do right now are “drive the car” and sweep. Almost every morning I’m greeted with, “Miles drive the car?” which means he wants to pretend to drive the school’s golf cart that sits in the courtyard. As he drives, his hands are on the steering wheel as he says “Brrrrmmmm… Beep! Beep!” I laugh every time! And his obsession with sweeping is over the top! Every time he sees a broom, he says,

“Miles sweep!” Heaven forbid you tell him “no.” His lip puckers out, and in his most pitiful voice he whimpers, “Miles sweeeeepppp.” Who can say “no” to that? Not me! See what I mean about the wrapped around the finger thing?

In June, Miles, Bill, and Carissa are moving back to the States. I can’t imagine not seeing this little guy every morning, but I’m happy for them. I’m just going to have to savor every moment left with him! I lub you, Miles! 

I {heart} comments.

