Books, Books, Books- SOL

Today’s post is dedicated to…you guessed it…books! I thought I’d give you a peek into my reading life.

What I’m Reading:

I’m reading City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau with my fifth and sixth graders in Book Club. We made a commitment to read ONLY to the end of chapter ten before Thursday, and I’m finding it really hard to keep that commitment! Chapter ten ended at such a cliffhanger, that I’m dying to keep reading! So far I like it, but I keep having this nagging feeling that I’ve read this book before. I don’t mean that I’ve actually read City of Ember, but the story reminds me of The Hunger Games and 1984 by George Orwell. The theme of governmental control is overwhelmingly obvious. I wonder if my students will pick up on that.

I’m reading 3 other books with my first and second grade Book Clubs. One is School Story by Andrew Clements. Another is Frogs, a nonfiction National Geographic reader. And finally, Alone in the Night, a beginning chapter book about a cat named Star and a girl named Jasmine who loves her and cares for her. These aren’t my favorites, but my students are really enjoying them.

Professionally I’m reading Reading with Meaning by Debbie Miller, and I’m learning so much about teaching literacy to first graders! I’m only on page 50, but I’m ready to get back into it and learn some more! I can’t believe I’m about to say this, but it makes me want to try out teaching first grade. I wonder if this feeling will pass…

Personally I’m reading Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer. To say I’m reading this one is actually a stretch. A more accurate description would be that I’m stalled in it. The first three books were a breeze to get through, and I enjoyed them, but Breaking Dawn hasn’t had the same appeal to me. I’ve read about half of the book, but every time I come back to it, I can’t even seem to get through a chapter without feeling bored. I’m not giving up on it, but it’s on the back burner. I’m also reading Spilling Ink by Phelam, Potter, and Mazer and an assortment of picture books at random. Now that I don’t have my own class, I find that I’m missing out on reading picture books, so I’m adding to my repertoire by reading a few each week. If you have any suggestions, by all means, leave them in the comments section!

What’s in My Stack:
Here’s a glimpse at the books that are in my “To Read” stack, in no particular order.

The Vow by Kim & Krickitt Carpenter
The Pregnancy Project by Gaby Rodriguez
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
Room by Emma Donoghue
Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi
Growing Readers by Kathy Collins
Making Thinking Visible by Ritchhart, Morrison, and Church

What I’m Recommending:

Lately I find myself gushing over Wonder by R. J. Palacio. I don’t want to give anything away, but if you love YA fiction, this one is a page turner that will tug at your heart strings and make you “wonder” about so many things!

I recently read Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper in my 5th/6th grade Book Club, and it suddenly shot up to my top ten! This is another great YA fiction read that will get you thinking! You’ll just love Melody and her unwavering spirit. I recommend this book to everyone- kids, teachers, friends, parents- everyone!

Have you ever read The Wednesday Wars by Gary Schmidt? It’s a great read, right? I agree, but now that I’ve read the companion novel, Okay for Now, Wednesday Wars isn’t all that. Okay for Now is a beautifully written coming-of-age book focused on Doug and the struggles in his life. I found myself savoring this book, reading only a chapter or two at a time, in an attempt to have it last longer. I highly, highly recommend it!page1image40816 page1image40976

What’s on My Wish List:

Mentor Texts by Lynne R. Dorfman
The Mighty Miss Malone by Christopher Paul Curtis
What You Know by Heart by Katie Wood Ray
My own copies of Wonder, Okay for Now, and Out of My Mind
*By the way, my birthday’s in 2 months….you know, just in case you were wondering. 😉 

I {heart} comments.

