Cooking with PK & K- SOL

After last week’s trial-by-fire in my Pre-K & Kinder Cooking class, I felt a little defeated. As I walked around school this week, I was uplifted by the smiling faces and waves I received all week from my new little buddies. Several teachers even commented on how much the students loved cooking class! One little girl said, “I wish everyday was Tuesday so I could go to cooking class!” I was mentally ready and willing to give it another go, however, I needed to rethink my strategy. Instead of “cooking” which means I’m doing a lot of the work (they are too little to cook with heat- not safe!), we needed more of “assembly” type recipes. With this new game plan, I was prepared and the results were happy, engaged students and a non-stressed teacher. I’d say today was a most pleasant day!

Today’s menu included spiders, mini fruit kebabs, and trail mix. They loved it!!! I couldn’t believe how attentive and careful they were. They were super cute when they were “cooking” and they loved the tasty treats they made. Here are two of our recipes:

“Spiders”

Ingredients: crackers, cream cheese, pretzels, and raisins

Directions: Spread cream cheese on one side of 2 crackers. Place 8 pretzel “legs” into the cream cheese on one cracker. Place the other cracker (cream cheese side down) on top of the first cracker. Put a small bit of cream cheese on the top cracker. Place 2 raisin “eyes” on the cream cheese. Enjoy!

Trail Mix

Ingredients: Cheerios, Trix cereal, pretzels, chocolate chips, raisins, and sunflower seeds

Directions: Add desired amount of each ingredient to a bowl or plastic bag. Mix with a spoon. Enjoy!

I {heart} comments.

