Reading…Is There Anything Better?- SOL

Reading has and always will be an important part of my life. Reading makes my heart happy. If I’m unusually crabby, it’s usually because I haven’t read lately. Reading is comfortable, thought-provoking, and intriguing. Reading opens your heart and mind to other ideas, places, perspectives. This post is dedicated to one of my favorite pastimes.

I read YA fiction, realistic fiction, historical fiction (my new fave!), fantasies, blogs, feature articles, Facebook statuses, biographies, professional books (primarily focused on reading, writing, & teaching through inquiry), emails, picture books, series, books from authors I love, letters and notes from friends, old favorites, book reviews, Pinterest captions, Slices of Life, children’s writing (I love when they share their writing with me!), school documents, poetry, memoir, interviews, and magazine articles. I read in print and digitally on the Internet and on my iPad. While I love the feel and smell of a “real” book, I enjoy the conveniences of e-readers. I write about my reading in my reader’s notebook. I love to recommend books to others, and I have a knack for finding *just* the right book for those reluctant readers.

Books I’ve read in the past are defining moments in my life. I can distinctly remember reading From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg in fourth grade, which is a book about adventure and mystery and “running away to find yourself.” I have reread that book over ten times since then, many times as a read aloud or in a book club with students, and I enjoy it every time I read it. Being able to share my love of literature with children allows me to connect with them in a whole new way. When you share books you love, those books that stay with you and resonate with who you are, you are sharing a piece of your soul.

I decided to slice about reading today because this evening I was tutoring Jennifer, a seventh grader who, when I met her a month ago told me that she “hates reading.” When I walked in today, she began excitedly talking about Jeff from There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom like he was a real person, showed me her new Scholastic books that she bought from school, talked about her reading plans for when she finishes There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom, and told me she couldn’t wait to read more of The Hunger Games with me tonight. I just smiled, took it all in, and thought to myself, “Yep, she’s caught the reading bug.” I couldn’t be happier! 😉 

I {heart} comments.

