Friends- SOL

“A true friend knows all there is to know about you, yet still likes you.”

This quote is awesome! As I was cleaning up this week, I came across a folder that a first grade book club student had left in my classroom. When I picked it up, I noticed that this quote was printed on the outside of the folder. I immediately jotted it down in the “Quotes I Love” section of my writer’s notebook. Although the quote is humorous, it has some truth in it, don’t you think?

IMG_1305

 

I have been very fortunate to have found some very true friends here in Shanghai, one of whom is wearing the lovely reindeer costume in the picture above. That’s Shaggers, and she is one of the most genuine, kind-hearted, and sweetest individuals on this planet. She and I have such a strong bond and are able to tell each other anything. She knows all there is to know about me, and she still likes me. I guess that makes her a true friend! 🙂

You want to know how cool she is? When I had surgery on my finger last year, she insisted on coming to the hospital with me, staying throughout the surgery, calling my parents to let them know I was OK, and then taking me home. She then went grocery shopping for me and even cut up my fruits and veggies for the week so I wouldn’t have to. She’s the best! This, along with countless other reasons, is why I love her!

Shaggers has been there whenever I needed a friend, and I’m going to miss her next year. She will be moving to Hong Kong in the summer, and while I know we’ll see each other and stay in touch, it’s not the same as having her here. I’m going to make the most of the time we have left, and I’ll definitely be making some trips to Hong Kong next year! 

I {heart} comments.

