What Have I Gotten Myself Into?!?- SOL

Has this ever happened to you? You plan for something to turn out one way, but it turns out completely different than you had planned. Well, I have!

I teach upper elementary for a reason. I love their independence, the ability they possess to follow directions, their common sense…the list goes on and on. Why then did I volunteer to teach a cooking class to Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten children? I’m not entirely sure.

Yesterday was my very first cooking class. We made scrambled eggs and French toast. With the class scheduled for an hour and a half, I wondered what I was going to do with ALL that time…boy was I wrong…we barely finished by the time they had to be picked up! Some of the highlights of my afternoon included LOTS of questions, raw eggs splattered in their hair, pureed bananas instead of sliced ones because it  was so much fun to chop, one little girl who cried the whole time because she wanted her mommy, LOTS of hugs, oh, and the best one…When my back was turned, a 4 year old boy decided it would be a great idea to crush the egg shells and dump them into the egg mixture that we were using to dip our bread into for the French toast! Seriously! I asked him why he did that, but he just smiled and said, “I don’t know!” Of course you don’t. All in all it was an adventure, but I am definitely rethinking next week’s game plan!

Don’t get me wrong, they are seriously adorable kids, but I’m pretty sure my patience would run out if I taught that age group all the time. Kudos to any teacher who teaches first grade and younger!

I {heart} comments.

