Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!- SOL

Don’t you just love Mo Willem’s books? I certainly do! His pigeon books are the my personal favorites. The pictures and text are simplistic, yet draw you in time and time again. I love how they invite the reader to join in and talk back to the text, urging the pigeon NOT to drive the bus (usually by yelling “NOOOO!” at the top of their lungs).

Last week was Literacy Week at my school, and as the Literacy Coach, I had a lot to do! Well…”a lot” is putting it mildly, but you get the point. Anyway, one of the activities that brightened each day was being able to dress up as a storybook character and read aloud to various classes throughout the school from the toddlers to the fifth graders. I was The Cat in the Hat, Ira from Ira Sleeps Over, Fancy Nancy, Owen, and my fave, The Pigeon! If you think reading the pigeon books as a teacher is engaging, try reading them dressed up as the pigeon himself (or herself…I’m still trying to figure out the pigeon’s gender).
As The Pigeon, I got to…
*YELL really LOUDLY!
*Persuade the kids to let me drive the bus or stay up late with a sweet voice and a little eyelash fluttering thrown in for good measure (didn’t work!)
*Pout (see above picture)
*Cry dramatically
*Storm off in a huff
Do I even have to tell you how the kids reacted? As you can imagine, they loved it! I didn’t leave any class without reading at least three pigeon books. Although my voice was hoarse at the end of the day, I wouldn’t trade it for the world! Oh, and it’s been great seeing little ones around campus this week. I’ve answered to “The Pigeon,” “Fancy Nancy,” “The Blue Bird,” and “The Hat in the Cat.” Gotta love kids, right?!? My job is the coolest! 🙂

I’m so excited to join the wonderful writing community in the March “Slice of Life Challenge” at Two Writing Teachers! Here’s my 1st slice! 

I {heart} comments.

